Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GROW

by KaiseanGames - Jam Entry

Take a chance at global world repopulation project - GROW.

Manage a small space outpost - build buildings, defend from asteroids.
But there's a twist: You can build only next to the previously built building.

Unfortunatelly, game is only half completed...
Initially, there was to be another twist - every kind of building has some effect on another adjacent kind, but there was simply not enough time. I was generally too ambitious.

Game had no balancing, so I don't expect much fun. But hey, I tried. :)


Reupload:
Bug fixed - player was unable to continue past the first asteroid fall.
Bug fixed - Tutorial text was covered by other text.
Bug fixed - Status bar was incorrectly positioned depending on resolution. "Skip turn" button was moved to status bar from building menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#394Graphics(Jam)3.67
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#575Innovation(Jam)3.05
#584Mood(Jam)3.13
#679Humor(Jam)2.33
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#777Theme(Jam)3.34

Comments

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

fun game!

Lapiroxx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46am

Neat, would like to see more.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01pm

I really liked it ! But I think you should make a better tutorial because all those ressources were a little confusing to me. So I didn't manage to finish it. But I still had some fun playing it :D

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:07am

A little bad to get started
Perhaps some illustrated will be better
But it is quite interesting~

blurryroots says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:29am

Feels amazingly polished! I liked the interface and the art style of the buildings. I would have wished for a bit more feedback when trying to build something and lacked the resources.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35am

You don't see these kinds of games a lot during game jams, well done!

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:56am

Not bad. It lacks feedback - kinda hard to understand what's going on; but the basic gameplay is there. Also the game looks nice.

thomz12 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Took some time to figure out, other then that its a pretty solid game :)

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03pm

looks promising

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Very nice sandbox game. Even though there wasnt really any gameplay other then adding buildings :>
Maybe you can continue the game after ludum dare?

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:22pm

it's pretty nice, not the easiest to get into though

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:25am

Found a bug: somehow the blue colored tiles vanished. And since skipping a turn is (for whatever reason) only possible in the build menu, the game got stuck, because without the blue tiles I couldn't get into the build menu.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Solid game, with some more balancing and polishing it could be a "steam game". It's a solid fundament for some big game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:32pm

It looks interesting. It can be improved by other features - a good starter kit. Well done ++

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Nice concept. I had a very hard time understanding why I couldn't build some things, and which resource wasn't enough of. The graphics and the mood are amazing though.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:11am

Inspired design but somewhat incomplete. Maybe too ambition to 48h.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:55pm

The idea has a lot of potential, I like the combination of resource/space management mechanics.

Making the feedback on the resources lacking to build something could be useful, but it was generally easy enough to see which one it was.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:17pm

A good beginning, but without a goal that I could see it feels pretty empty. I find it's a good idea to put in the win and lose conditions early on, then fill in the game in between!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Very great game! I think with some polish you can push it to the great market! Great job!

donvermo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I'm mixed about this one, it looked really good and all, yet I wasnt really motivated to finish it or something? Probably as it is somewhat hard to grasp what is going on. Also, while I would classify this as a strategy game, the random elements can be really cruel at the start, completely ruining your run. Some visual feedback on the asteriods would be nice aswell, besided that the graphics and astethics worked really well.

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Good strategy game! Spent about hour on this entry, really fun! May be some in-game tutorial can help me start enjoy it faster.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:24am

this is a cool strategy game! well done for such a short amount of time!

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:07pm

I found it fun. There were a few items I had difficulty with - sometimes it wouldn't let me build, and I could see I had the proper resources. Also power didn't seem to be really taken into account. I love the interface, and the humorous descriptions. Pretty cool, better than some finished games I have played!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]