Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

OH GOD NO

by shcromlet - Compo Entry

An evil overlord has thrown you in a pit. With two buttons at his disposal, he toys with you, watching you fight in vain for your life.

Increase your score by staying alive and collecting crystals.

The evil overlord mostly just slams on the red button, dropping enemies on you and destroying the pit.

Collecting 5 crystals causes the green button to be pressed, dropping an extra life or repairing some missing floor tiles.

Controls: Arrow keys to move. Space to pick up and throw things.

Main character spritesheet taken from:
http://opengameart.org/content/16x18-character-base-template-collage


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#188Humor3.08
#465Innovation3.18
#475Mood2.96
#600Audio2.32
#653Overall3.04
#667Fun2.89
#668Graphics2.75
#768Theme3.32

Comments

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Clever idea. Bullets come way too fast. Not sure what the green button did.

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

An Haxeflixel game!! (I'm using HF for my professional productions). Nice to play, and very fun, the idea to play "in a game" while a human is playing is fun.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Innovative use of the theme that's cool :) The game feels a bit messy, though! Keep it up!

LudumFans says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01am

OH GOD I DIED

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

I really like the audio.

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

I don't get the big hand thing, but nice and hard ;)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Great naming scheme XD
The two button incorporation was clever. Too bad I had a hard time surviving.

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Interesting take on the theme, I enjoyed playing it but the hand seemed to block too much of the screen, causing me to die a lot more than I should have.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Honestly it was really hard for me to tell what the hell was even going on most of the time lol..

Charzendat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

The bullets were such a nightmare and the hand coming down blocking the screen was annoying. I appreciate your innovation though, spinning the two button control theme.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Very good use of the two button theme. A bit to difficult. Making the player slower and the bullets slower would help a lot. Well done though sir.

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

That turned bullet helly quick :)
Could have used some ramping up of the action and an explanation of what the different items are. I die before having time to test them out now hehe. That's what games used to be like though, and this has a nice old school feel to it. Great interpretation of the theme, thanks!

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Maybe if less bullet hell it would be more about throwing enemies than hiding in a corner haha nice entry!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I have no clue what was going on. Found best strategy to be just "Cry in the corner until everything is all-right"

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Nice game, but it feels kind of not organised especially with that finger appearing every now and then.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:30pm

What the hell was going on in this game?? I was so confused, then I kind of got the hang of it.

The game could use some balancing, i found it either way easy or way hard to stay alive, depending on where the enemies spawned. The hand coming down and blocking the screen also made it impossible to use the right side of the screen. Graphics are nice, great pixel work. Audio is missing a something, and the sound of the hand pushing the button is a bit grating. Overall, an interesting entry. Well done!

GodsBoss says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:36am

Great game. The big hands coming down were very annoying, but I guess this was on purpose?

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:50am

Cool game ! It's a mess, but I enjoyed playing it :D

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:28am

10/10 name for the game, found myself saying it out loud while playing because to be honest, I had no idea what was going on. Did not understand the giant hand and the red button, but it seems like it could be fun?

Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Really difficult and fast paced game. Liked the use of the theme with the hand and the green and red button.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]