Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Brobots

by brainstorm - Compo Entry

Two robots have problems! And you only need tw buttons to help them!

Features:

20 challenging levels, classified in two different environments!

Different ingame elements to make things harder!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#301Theme3.94
#362Fun3.31
#456Innovation3.19
#491Overall3.22
#513Humor2.32
#648Audio2.13
#705Mood2.64
#861Graphics2.14

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Cool game! Good job!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

@plumberski Thank you!

keepee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

seemed like a decent simple puzzle game, but the colours are just too garish, you need to reduce saturation and improve the contrast between back/foreground

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

An interesting mechanic. But it is difficult to control robots with mouse :( I would also like to add that the game is very saturated colors is very difficult for the eyes.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

The colors of the game are harsh on me sometimes, but otherwise I enjoyed the game!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Nice little game with retro 1991-DOS-shareware-game kinda graphics. Only the music occasionally got a bit on my nerves. Also nice progression of difficulty and new gameplay elements. Only suggestion: Have the buttons mapped to keyboard-buttons, e.g. A and D or something. And R to retry :)

ceosol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I did not mind the colors.

I think it was a decent game. However, your adherence to the theme was very forced and took away a lot of the enjoyment. Having to click on the right side, then the left side, then the right side, then the left side... and finding that you only got 1/4 through a fairly small sized level became tedious. I think this would on mobile and might try downloading the android version. I hope you take our critiques to heart and continue developing it post comp!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Cool concept, I liked having to work out my moves carefully to be able to advance to the next level. Not sure why you made it so you should use a mouse to click on the coloured boxes as buttons instead of just clicking on actual buttons on a keyboard. Good job and good luck!

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

This is my favorite two button control game so far. Really clever. I played every level! I think assigning blue and red to keyboard buttons as well would be good, too.

Belvar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Really interesting puzzle game. At first I feared that the mechanic wouldn't be complex enough to have interesting puzzles but I was proved wrong. With some polish, music and sound it could be a very good puzzle game.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Nice logic games with really smart level design.
Colors are a bit too bright and after a while my eyes kinda hurt. Other than that it was a really solid game.

Namek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12pm

I felt that 14th level was harder than 20th. Overall, good game! New mechanic in the 10th level was a bit late because it adds something interesting to the game.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:38am

You may not need as many simple puzzles in the beginning. I would have liked if I could press a key on the keyboard instead of having to click on the screen.

Overall I think it has potential.

Good job for a compo entry.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:05pm

A couple clever things you did with the puzzles, sometimes I found myself stuck but luckily the puzzles were short enough to not make it frustrating so good job with that. The graphical quality doesn't bother me but the colors should be a bit less saturated, I felt it was quite taxing on the eyes to play it. The button system works for mobile but for the PC I would have liked keyboard controls!

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:11pm

The art is really awfull >_< .. the idea itself is interesting ... also i think u had way too many tutorial levels :D not a big deal for a game-jam though...

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

At first glance, this seemed quite simple, but with good level design this game became a very enjoyable little puzzle platformer. Good job!
I wasn't a fan of the art though, everything was so bold it hurt to look at for extended periods of time.
I liked the level names!

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Nice game with simple mechanic and cool sound. Good job!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very nicely done puzzle game!
The gameplay is cool, and you gradually learn the player the mechanics (when you bump into a wall, you go the other direction etc), which is very nice. Like the others I really don't like the graphics.
Well done!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Pace is a bit slow at the start but I like the mechanics and some of the later puzzles were well done.

Muel says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Reminds me of the co-op mode of Portal that I never convinced my friends to play with me ;-;

I'd change only the color scheme, add more contrast between level and background.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Great use of the theme, lead to some quite complex and engaging gameplay. Others have made good suggestions already, so there's not much to add from my side except 'good work'!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

A cute title and a good game. I like that it has lots of levels and a good challenge.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:07am

This was a surprisingly fun, and challenging game!

great use of theme, and really solid puzzle design.

art and music could be better, but with the time-limit it shows you worked on the puzzles more, which I think was a good idea.

I liked how level 12 introduced an almost 'platformer' aspect of the game.

I could definitely see this being a full release with a little more polish, nice job! :)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:54pm

great puzzle game! keep it up!

MorganLeFay says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:22pm

The first few levels are really easy but after that it get's really interesting. I played it on my PC but I think it would work really well on mobile. To make the PC version more enjoyable I agree with other comentors that you should assign keys to the buttons.

kabel says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:15pm

The graphics are below average and even with an okay gameplay that comic sans font really makes this quite bad...
As someone said before, this might work better as a mobile game.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Mechanically felt like a complete game. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]