Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ourobos

by SinclairStrange - Jam Entry

WHY DO I PUT MYSELF THROUGH SO MUCH PAIN! I know why, 'cause when you look back at what you've created, you feel so very accomplished.

Anyway before I go on about the game, I highly suggest you download and play the WINDOWS version! The web/flash version is cut down and runs slower, so if you want the true awesome experience play the WINDOWS version!

So it's done, it's done! A mini-pocket Metroid styled game. What perfect thing for growth than a Metroid style game. A game where you grow bigger, stronger and more powerful.

There is a loose story line about a growth virus in there but sadly I didn't have enough time to flesh it out. I'd rather stick in a few bosses instead! :P

Controls:

Arrows = Move
Z = Shoot
X = Jump
Enter = Pause/Item/MenuScreen
-/+ = Change Volume
(Press Esc while on main screen to return to main screen.)

(You can change the controls by pressing 1,2 or 3 at the title screen. This will change the keys to A-S/Shoot-Jump or the WASD and KL)

So, it's done. It's a pretty large game considering it was made in under 72 hours, so have fun peeps! Now it's time for a nap and then to play all the lovely games other peeps have made! ^_^

-Joel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#13Overall(Jam)4.28
#49Fun(Jam)3.99
#55Mood(Jam)4.07
#71Graphics(Jam)4.40
#73Audio(Jam)3.99
#563Humor(Jam)2.57
#757Innovation(Jam)2.76
#1017Theme(Jam)2.67

Comments

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

Very impressive! Wow

Joe Lawrence says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

I'm impressed by the amount of content in this for under 72 hours! Fun, great art style and good use of the theme. Nice one :D

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54am

Whoa, quite impressive! I love the art and the controls felt really smooth.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56am

Amazing!

I accidentally deleted my save when I was trying to exit the game, though. Escape is a horrible button for that.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14am

Thanks guys for the comments! I'll check out your games tomorrow ^_^.

And Ghostbomb, I quickly edited so now it's the delete button, hopefully that'll be better :)

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

Wow, this is a solid game, congratulations to make it :D

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

So much polish and content in one entry. :o Amazing! Very inspiring also. :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59am

Very impressive, doing a metroid game in 72 hours is awesome! I miss a minimap :) ! Congratulations!

coldman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10am

I love this game, the graphism and sounds are excellent. Great work ;)

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Nicely done! The main character is a bit slow, but I enjoyed this game a lot.

pedrorossa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Crazy!!!
Very cool, but i'm a fan of metroid, so, for me it's prety awesome :D :D :D

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Nice pixel and NES gameplay feelings :) Congrats!

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Hats off this is an impressive amount of Metroidvania for the time given. Enjoyed this loads! (Did you even sleep? :p)

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Good game. It brings back memories. I don't know how to criticize really, I think it worked very well for a retro platformer.

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Very beautiful game, controls like a dream. looks great. You are crazy to have done this in 72 hours :)

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Great graphics and audio, good gameplay, lots of content.
How did you pull this off?

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47pm

An incredibly polished game for 72 hours. I'm planning on coming back to beat this one!

Aaants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Crazy amount of highquality work in there. Well done!

GFM says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:07am

I played for quite a while and was able to get to the third boss (the ice one, beneath water)... however, I only found a save point at the start of the game so, after I died, I was quite unmotivated to continue...

Still, I'm quite amazed by how much content there is. There were quite a few different enemy types and weapons!
The graphics were great and I really liked the music! It gives off a really metroid-ish vibe!

However, one bug (feature?) really destroy this game... I don't believe it was intended to the combuster require ammo to shoot, since I am able to shoot it even without ammo. But, it's required. This make farming for health or ammo impossible.
So I simply had to keep running and trying to avoid enemies at all cost. I understand that this kind of thing happens in jams, so yeah... I can live with that. XD

All in all, amazing job!! :)

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

Incredible, but I rage quit after I died having not found a checkpoint in like, 30 mins. Amazing despite that.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49am

AMAZING WORK. It is unbelievable how you did this in the small timeframe.

Eremiell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:31am

Any chance of a Linux build? Looks wonderful.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41am

Perfect score. I can't believe how much polish and content you packed into 72 hours of dev. Amazing work!

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:28am

Holy crap this game is big for an LD game!

anael says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30am

Impressive

Tipyx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06am

Nice metroid-like :)

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Holy shit this is awesome ! a metroid like with saves and powerups and everything made in 72 hours :o

awesome work :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Yeah so I have no idea how you made this is the time given. Very authentic old school feel. Graphics, feel, audio, level design, all amazing. Top marks from me!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Very impressive Metroidvania game, loved the art style and the different options. Only real issue was it felt a bit slow, particularly walking. Other than that, great job!

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Really impressive with lots of content and the amount of effort you put in! I think I may need some time to finish it. Well done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Gorgeous! It's amazing to see that you've put together this much excellent content in just 72 hours!

Criticising such a wonderful effort seems cruel, but I did have a few problems that could be addressed. Firstly, it seems you can't jump when holding the down key, which makes hitting the many doors set into the floor annoying. Also, I had a similar experience to GFM, not finding any save points between the lava zone and the ice boss. I'm sure they must be there somewhere, but they could stand to be easier to find.

I didn't get to finish the game this time, but I definitely want to come back to it and give it another shot, when I get the chance. Wonderful showing!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09pm

This is one of the most jam-packed LD games I played so far! I'm amazed by the work done here!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:32am

Nice long game, long journey, very hard! Nice.. to much things to say about this one, so all I'm saying is, nice.. :D You get 5 stars! ;D

Where did the theme come in, btw?

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:26am

Just watched the walkthrough and realised I hadn't even passed half the level. I saw it's true colours! Awesome game, unbelievably big for 72 hour jam. :D

You get your 5 starts now. :3

movedaru says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:54am

HEY! You Really create this game in Scratch?!! :O! IT´s Amazing

timeshapers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:31am

I played 20 minutes and I feel like I haven't scratched the surface here.
Definitely getting back to this later, top notch game, even regardless of the 72 hours time constraint.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:40am

Really well made, there's so much to learn from the design of this game, to have made it so polished within 72 hours. Saving this one to keep on playing, and I'd definitely buy a copy if you released it on steam. gg

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:53am

I started by the Walkthrough version, and the first thing I said is "32mins ?! What ?". The content is very impressive, and the quality of graphics and design as well.

It's a really nice entry with a welcome retro feel. And I love Metroid games (+1 for making it happen in 72 hours...).

Great job!

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:23pm

There is an INSANE amount of content here for 72hrs. AMAZING! PRETTY PRETTY PLEASE do a post mortem, i think everyone could learn alot from you!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Really good work!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:04pm

I've not beat it yet, but I might, just not now. This is one of the more frustrating ludum dare games I've played in a while. And not because of game difficulty either. There are many frustrating bugs that I can't pin point. But there was one section where your shots disappeared. I couldn't tell if it ever equipped the main upgrades or not. The movement was inherently jagged. And I could never shoot up and to the left. For some reason. Up and right was fine, just not up and left. And as others have said, shooting down was a constant problem. I thought of making a map, but then my computer crashed. And I was relieved that I didn't have to play any more. I'll probably beat it later, but not now.

The graphics are pretty. The music melds well with the environment. The variety of enemies were welcome. The audio logs were a nice touch as well.

Please consider making a post compo version with the bugs fixed before you work on that sequel?

Cause I'd play that.

Overall: Frustrating. Would be difficult but fair if you fixed the bugs. There is some fun and a "must finish" factor though. Good entry.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Good art and gameplay)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40pm

The music is great!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Very cool game! There is a lot of content and is very polished. Good job!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Wow. This is humongous! To see this amount of work done in such a short time is very inspiring! Please make a post-compo version, cause this is awesome.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:38pm

This is an amazing game!

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:27pm

You must be some very experienced game dev. It's too awesome stuff to be made in 3 days.

Well done!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Really nice game. Very solid and complete! Almost incredible you did it in 72 hours!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Really impressed, you're very productive !

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Cool game. One of the most complete games in this LD. I defeated the Lava boss and ran out of ammo. I died and returned to the main menu. I tried to close the game to play more later and pressed Alt+Ctrl+Del because i was unable to close the game. To my surprise appeared a message, your save game was deleted.... Why?? Why with me? And then I read press Del to delete your game... T__T

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Outstanding! I'm still impressed by how much content you put in this game in so few time. Did you invent a way to slow down time? :)

The game is excellent, a good metroid tribute, great mood, excellent level design, beautiful music and GBC graphics... I still have to complete the game (according to your map, I miss two rooms only, but darn, these "metroids mobs" at the end are though!). I like how the game change from one zone to another, gameplay wise (the first two are platform shooter oriented, while the third one is more puzzle/speed oriented, and the last one seems to be more about avoiding enemies with the shield than killing them).

If this game doesn't end in the Jam podium, then I don't understand LudumDare :).

I'll have a series of minor complaints/remarks if you plan to do a post-compo version of the game (and you should, as it's really awesome!) :

-When entering a new room, would it be possible to make the hero move according to the direction already pressed? I played the browser version, but I have to release/press again an arrow key to keep walking when changing room (it seems nothing, but it's kinda annoying when you spend about 1 hour exploring the game world)

-When we load a saved game, the current health and ammo isn't fully restored (very annoying at the end game: I save with 999 ammo and 140 health, but I restart with only 250 ammo and 100 health. That's what actually had me quit the game before completing it - I'll need about 999 ammo to finish it, but I don't have the patience to farm it again)

-For those who faced the "first gun no longer shoot bug", just press enter to display the map and press enter again to continue playing: the gun is now firing again, even with 0 ammo (so you can open doors ;))

-The way to reach the missile launcher is a bit unfair: one fall = too many rooms to walk again, IMHO.

-I find the jump movement a bit short when not underwater (underwater it's very smooth) - would it be possible to jump a bit higher? That would make some tricky jump less tricky at some places.

-That being said, again, the game is very excellent. The level design is very interesting and well done, it doesn't feel like a 72h game but rather a month-long level design and development.

Congrats!

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Outstanding! I'm still impressed by how much content you put in this game in so few time. Did you invent a way to slow down time? :)

By-the-way, what tools did you use to create the game? HaxeFlixel?

The game is excellent, a good metroid tribute, great mood, excellent level design, beautiful music and GBC graphics... I still have to complete the game (according to your map, I miss two rooms only, but darn, these "metroids mobs" at the end are though!). I like how the game change from one zone to another, gameplay wise (the first two are platform shooter oriented, while the third one is more puzzle/speed oriented, and the last one seems to be more about avoiding enemies with the shield than killing them).

If this game doesn't end in the Jam podium, then I don't understand LudumDare :).

I'll have a series of minor complaints/remarks if you plan to do a post-compo version of the game (and you should, as it's really awesome!) :

-When entering a new room, would it be possible to make the hero move according to the direction already pressed? I played the browser version, but I have to release/press again an arrow key to keep walking when changing room (it seems nothing, but it's kinda annoying when you spend about 1 hour exploring the game world)

-When we load a saved game, the current health and ammo isn't fully restored (very annoying at the end game: I save with 999 ammo and 140 health, but I restart with only 250 ammo and 100 health. That's what actually had me quit the game before completing it - I'll need about 999 ammo to finish it, but I don't have the patience to farm it again)

-For those who faced the "first gun no longer shoot bug", just press enter to display the map and press enter again to continue playing: the gun is now firing again, even with 0 ammo (so you can open doors ;))

-The way to reach the missile launcher is a bit unfair: one fall = too many rooms to walk again, IMHO.

-I find the jump movement a bit short when not underwater (underwater it's very smooth) - would it be possible to jump a bit higher? That would make some tricky jump less tricky at some places.

-That being said, again, the game is very excellent. The level design is very interesting and well done, it doesn't feel like a 72h game but rather a month-long level design and development.

Congrats!

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Wait, what? Does this game have an ending?
I fell through a door into a black screen and gut stuck there.

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Skip this first paragraph if you don't want to read a lecture :p
I'm giving this lowest score for innovation & theme, highest for everything else (except not rating humour) as well as 3 over all.
You made me play a super awesome pocket Metroid, while I could've reviewed another 100 smaller games in the same time! You also likely hurt yourself quite a bit making it this massive, while heavily shooting past the theme. You can argue about an unfinished story line and a 'growing' character all you want, it's missing the mark by miles for me.
Just collecting a few tokens that unlock abilities doesn't cut it. If you had at least changed her sprite during the process (even a palette swap would've done fine!) or added a little more context to her 'growing' I might've given a slightly higher theme rating (like Metroid Prime Corruption for example actually has a phazon tumour growing inside Samus with each upgrade). This way it's really not connected to growing any more than the coins collected number rising in a Mario game. 4 instead of 5 areas was totally fine. One innovative area instead of 4 done-to-death areas would have been much better.

TL;DR: I want to see you flex your innovation muscles instead of overstraining your creation capacity.

Now that this is out of the way, here some nit picking on the game itself to consider for the sequel - unless you can already proudly boast about having it on the to-do list or even implemented:

The title screen was horribly underwhelming for what follows! Make sure it shines bright on part 2.

It would've been great if the game remembered the 123 control settings. I often had to restart twice because I forgot to hit 2.

With enter and escape you already used a total of 4 buttons (disregarding directional inputs here). Add a quick toggle for weapons in the next game. Switching via menu is tedious.

As mentioned before, one screen transition lead me to a dark/black checker pattern screen upon using it for the first time (the bottom right door downwards into the lava area).

I didn't know what the third upgrade actually did and I could not find one weapon and one upgrade (those were cut with the 5th area or still hidden elsewhere?).

Killing something above the camera creates quite a heavy particle rain.

Shooting backwards during a skid but forwards again afterwards, while well intended, became a nuisance upon fighting the Metroid replacements. It made it really hard to hop around them and change direction to shoot without moving towards them again too much. Made me decide to rush this whole area with the shield instead, which is rather sad (stocked up on 999 ammunition before).

The game is in desperate need for more refined controls. There are already a lot of nice details in there, but things like turning around while crouching would really make it feel a lot better and also play easier. A Megaman like dash slide (down+jump) would also be a great fit for this game (unless it's the upgrade I was missing).

The whole planet exploded with all those survivors still on it! Success!? D:

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Extra stuff for the list I forgot:

As already mentioned by others: the jump didn't feel quite right. I get that it's quite important to get back down quickly for a lot of situations, but you can get short/fast hopping done as well as more relaxed feeling jumps.

Either experiment with a floaty jump (hold jump to extend the apex), make a slightly longer jump default and add fast falling (press down to fall quickly), add short hopping (quick jump tap only makes you jump very little) or in fact all of it. I feel like you already have a little of the floaty jump in there, but it's just not pronounced enough - and fast falling might be annoying due to the shooting down mechanic (but you could add some recoil or just override the fast fall with a float while shooting). I hope jumping will feel better on the sequel.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:13am

Nifty little Metroid tribute. Impressive amount of content & gameplay for such a short period of time.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Looks like most everything has been said. This makes you forget you're playing a jam game.

ianh says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:53am

How did you make all this in 72 hours? What kind of preparation did you do? :o

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

BRIALLIANCE ! ! !

That's all i can say.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:05am

Wow! Awesome metroidvania game! Very satisfactory!
Level design is very good, boses are cool but pretty weak for me... Every boss a beat with first time.
Nice work, dude! Seriously!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:49pm

The polish and amount of content is really impressive. But like someone already said, it's nothing really... new or innovative. The controls have also been frustrating at times, especially shooting downwards. Also I'd like to note that it should be more obvious that you can switch weapons/view the map, by pressing enter, took me a while to realize that.
I played it until the end, so I can't say it's bad, but it's also nothing special.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:33am

Woah how did you do so much in such a short time? I love exploratory platformers and this really kept me hooked! Really great retro feel. Atmospheric graphics and music that changes with zones. The map and the log entries were nice additions. Not sure you stuck to any themes (arrow keys are buttons too you know :P) but its brilliant!

Alex Rose says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Tonne of content, took ages, was very fun. Encountered a bunch of glitches that were a little frustrating and required lots of restarts, but that comes with the territory of making a large game during a jam. Nice graphic effects as usual.

I can't really fault it, really good job.

hexagore says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:27pm

How did you make this much content so quickly? I'm astonished!! :D

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:01pm

nice metroidvania game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]