Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Balloon Festival is no place for Superheroes

by Erifdex - Compo Entry

A superhero person is currently flying around during an intense hot air balloon festival. You need to run along his cape to avoid falling to your death!

I'm not sure what has put you in this situation, to be honest...

Controls:

Up to jump whilst running on the cape

Up and Down control movement whilst in the air

Made using Haxe, and Luxe

UNFORTUNATELY, THE GAME IS PRETTY MUCH BROKEN DUE TO BEING FPS-DEPENDENT :(
(rookie error, I know)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Humor3.67
#157Graphics3.83
#161Innovation3.71
#165Audio3.41
#238Overall3.56
#301Fun3.39
#405Mood3.06
#490Theme3.72
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17am

I have no idea what is objective of this game. Crashing into balloons seems to have no effect. Graphics and sounds are okay though.

herniewise says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

This is so weird and I love it

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

I liked the graphics, and the idea was nice.

I swear that superhero hates me though, he keeps picking the worst path to take! haha nice job :)

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59am

The sudden orientation changes are bit trippy, but it's a nice fun little game.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

I enjoyed this game. It has a nice overall mood and is driven by an insane idea.

Belvar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Nice graphics and sound. The gameplay is a bit confusing, though. I like the superhero movements, but the balloons seems unavoidable most of the time and there is no health/damage feedback, but I guess this last one is a time issue :)

kaynank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

The premise is so weird that it makes complete sense, a refuge in audacity of sorts. The music is pretty catchy too.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Good job!
I really like the art style and the music, it really fits the theme. Too bad somethimes the balloons are unavoidable, and it takes a really long time to fall of the cape.
You could have used the second button for another action, like punching or ducking, and if you released the jump button you would move down.

Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Really neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

Adreqi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:32pm

The concept is really nice, but the random side of it makes it less fun to play sadly, like some times you can just sit there and do nothing, and then you are surrounded with nothing you can do. Not sure what can be done to fix that ^^

Nice game though, I also like the minimal music, it fits the graphics and the game overall.

rzuf says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:57am

Nice take on a bullet hell type of game! Game's a bit too random though, ballons placement and unpredictable movement of the superhero (cape is awesome!) could make the whole experience a tad frustrating, but hey, it seems you cannot die so it's ok. :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]