Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sand Storm

by pontooncity - Jam Entry

Get to the exit of each level!

Controls:
Movement: WSAD or Arrow keys
Select seed: 0-9 or scroll wheel
Place seed: Left Click Near Player
Reset Level: R (and lose 25 pts!)

Enjoy!

**PERFORMANCE NOTE**: The WebGL version is good enough to see the first few levels, but MUCH SLOWER on the more complex ones. The Web Player and Windows versions have multicore support and will go MUCH FASTER.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#74Innovation(Jam)3.87
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#723Graphics(Jam)3.04
#904Theme(Jam)3.08
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36am

Fun, but very confusing to play.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

A neat little game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Game continually turned blue, so I was unable to continue.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

This is a great puzzle game! I definitely want to see more of this in the future!

BudaDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

Hard to understand, but very interesting when you get it down.

SethR says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

I think I would like this but I'm dumb, I can't get out of the lake to the right. I must be missing something

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50am

umm, not sure how to play

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13am

Interesting game, took a few mins to figure out, but when I did it was neat. Very cool physics effects with the pixels. The game gave me a weirdly Lemmings-ish vibe? Maybe Lemmings 2 specifically? The bridge building stuff reminds me of it. Cool game anyway.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19am

Very well done concept.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Great idea, but sometimes difficult to understand. I like how you can do a lot with minimalist graphics.

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29pm

This game was really interesting! It was challenging to understand at first, but pretty neat. I like the music!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Good game. I really liked the concept. Reminded me of Mushroom 11.

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Good little game I like the way the plants grow in it.

Kepab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Couldn't get this to run in WebGL on Firefox 43, but the Unity Webplayer version worked fine. Awesome system for a game that pixel deforming!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:00am

Pretty interesting game, but got laggy after too many particles appeared on screen.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:28am

This is a pretty fun puzzler. I love the movement of the "character". It felt a lot like a lemmings game, but you were all of the lemmings in one. The audio was a little bit grating after a while, as it looped pretty quickly. It was also pretty difficult to read some of the seed types in the menu due to the bright colors with white text. Overall a great fun entry, that could be expanded into a much larger game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]