Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Santaur

by tweedle - Jam Entry

Sanatur was karate chopping pine trees down in the forest when he heard a commotion from The North Pole.
Evil Holiday Bats and Ghost Squids had stolen all the holiday spirit and retreated to their Eternal Cave of Despair.
Once again, Santaur is on a one way mission to save the world!

Gameplay & Controls:
Adventure, Platformer, Infinite Scroller & Shooter

A+D = Left + Right
Mouse= Aim

By: Taylor Dunn, Stephen Roper & Josh Watson.
Follow us on Twitter @ZamboniMacaroni

Tech:
Game Maker
Adobe Illustrator
Ableton Live 9
Spriter Pro
Windows & Mac OS X

Thanks for playing!

KNOWN JAM ENTRY FEATURES/BUGS:
-health glitch w/ enemy damage
-some lighting w/ pillars & trees
-joke art cropped odd sometimes
-homing mints only effect bats
-too much fun?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#60Humor(Jam)3.89
#164Audio(Jam)3.67
#189Mood(Jam)3.66
#241Graphics(Jam)3.95
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#720Theme(Jam)3.44
#746Innovation(Jam)2.78

Comments

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Lol, great graphics, and man, that Sentaur is really a badass, haha, it maybe look like chuck norris, but just cooler and badass

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

Really nice artwork. Very impressive graphics, a lovely game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

Really nice. Sometimes I would get stuck with the starting gun behind an ice barrier I didn't have the firepower to blow up though, and it was a little frustrating

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

The music and mood and graphics all felt like they fit very well together.

The nature of it being a platform but only allowing left and right movement made me feel excessively limited in my options. I think I might have been shooting something out at regular intervals, but I couldn't quite tell. They also seemed to always or often go right, which was less helpful when stuff was to my left. Ice at the edge of ledges was particularly confusing.

Too often, out of platformer habit trying to get away from the flying baddies (since I can't jump-dance around them), I tried to run off to the next platform down before it had scrolled. It was depressing to lose simply because the ground was still a few pixels off the screen. :-(

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

Very Funny, Great graphics. Great job

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Best Christmas game I have played all year

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

Nice work on the graphics, they're pretty unique. The game is super jolly just for the seasons. It seems like there's some physics problems though. Occasionally I would get stuck on some objects like the ice walls and a few platforms.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

I didn't get past a certain level, but great graphics.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29am

Very fun! The art is great!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28am

Wonderful graphics and audio. Presents an urgency but with a light-hearted aesthetic. A few tweaks and you have an excellent mini-game. More time to explain controls between the cutscene and the game. Speaking of, a cutscene? A POLISHED cutscene? in a JAM? Great job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Awesome little game. Really enjoyed it.

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55pm

nice game :) , got stuck a couple of times but i had fun :) good work

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Really nice graphics, I liked it!

socapex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:32am

I usually hate christmas things, but this was spot on. All hail santaur!!!

bearcabin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09am

amazing

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24am

This was just plain fun! Music, Graphics, and 'story' are fantastic in how well they all work with each other. Platformers like this aren't normally my thing, but i played this one a few extra times just to see all the quotes i could!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:14am

Super polished and quite addictive. Every time the bats and squids came out, I kept panicking and would drop off before the next platform was available. I love the spray gun! Great!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17am

Great graphics and humour! I found myself getting stuck on the other side of ice barriers a lot :-\

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:51am

Funny game. Cool music and art.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:52pm

this game reminded me the south park)) nice colours)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:14pm

At first I didn't really get what enemies were supposed to do. Once I figured that out, this game got a lot more fun. :D

The only real problem is that it sticks out the bottom of my screen, so it's really hard to tell when I can go down a platform safely. (My screen resolution is 1366 x 768).

The fact that it had an animated cutscene at the beginning was simply awesome. I also thought that the Santaur jokes were pretty cool. :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:49am

I feel like my bullets had no power behind them, this got especially annoying when I had a bat hovering around me taking me from 5 health to dead with no way to get away.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]