Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spread

by gogo199432 - Jam Entry

In this small game of ours you play as a computer virus. You have to spread and infect the key electronics in an office building, so you can reach the closest server. When you try to spread, you often have to solve simple puzzles that are generated randomly.

Controlls:
-Mouse
-R to restart level

(the images are gifs, you have to click on them to play them)

Update: added small instructions to the puzzles, hopefully it is now easier :)
Also in case you don't know what a RAR file is or how to extract it, click on the WEB version. It is linked to a self-extracting archive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Innovation(Jam)3.74
#253Graphics(Jam)3.93
#272Audio(Jam)3.46
#378Mood(Jam)3.38
#432Humor(Jam)2.78
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#668Theme(Jam)3.52
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

I like the concept ! :D The graphics are really good too. But I didn't really understand how to resolve some of those "simple" puzzles x)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

The puzzles really need some tutorials for the first time you encounter them, it takes a lot of tries for some to figure out exactly what they're about and the game is really unforgiving.

Other than that, good execution, good representation of the growing theme, solid puzzle game. With a little polish and refining, this could be a very good puzzle game

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

guoboism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Great concept. Could use some polish. The mini games are hard to understand (its rules and goal)

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

nice game but it get repetitive quickly

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

I like the puzzles, very creative! Innovative and it runs very nice.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59pm

The art reminded me immediately of game dev tycoon...which was fitting :P Cool concept. I'm not entirely sure of the theme alignment but I'm guessing it's like you're "growing" your virus?

Great job, though!

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Nice game. could see this get expanded upon.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01pm

A fun game but very unforgiving. The puzzles were pretty hard to figure out.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

The tutorial is a meh It isn't clear but I really enjoy it and the minigames. The graphics are cool an simple, reminds me to the Aperture videos in portal 2

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Puzzles are hard. But graphics are nice and the idea is good.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I really like the aesthetic on display here, delightfully minimalistic and clear. The puzzles are bit unclear especially when you're starting out and I found that the minigames I just guessed by pressing all the buttons. It's a cool concept with a pretty good execution and I think there's a lot of potential for development here!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19am

Great sense of style and a really unique theme and idea. Nice job!

The 5-lights puzzle I seemed to complete but didn't understand at all, the 3-4 times it popped up! haha

I also got stuck at one point on the first really big level, after I infected the TV there was no-where else to go and I couldn't seem to scroll the screen back to another branching point. Not sure if that was me screwing up or the game :P

omaha says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Looks like the web link points to a windows executable? I was hoping to check it out in browser :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Nice full-featured entry! The graphics look nice, the interface was clean, and the funky backing track was good without being too much.

I enjoyed the puzzles, although I think the turn-the-lights-on puzzle needs more of a "you win" effect, sometimes I'd hit something and suddenly it was over. I connected least with that one.

I had fun playing for a while, got through the first two complete levels but then the puzzles looked like they were going to stay the same so I called it a day.

Had a good time though - nice work!

thristhart says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:44am

I love the style! The puzzles are very unforgiving, as people have already said. I'd like more interaction/choice in deciding where to spread your virus.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Great concept and art.

Somnium says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:27am

An interesting puzzle game, with an interesting concept (and hard puzzles/minigames).

It was fun to play - a bit more branching of the routes would add to the "planning" part.

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Nice game, liked playing through it. Maybe add more humour if you are going for that category.

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Cool concept. I liked the idea of the little hacking minigames, gave the game sort of a Warioware feel. The actual game reminds me a lot of the hacking in Deus Ex Human Revolution, which is cool. Love the music too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]