Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Elochka

by Yaroslav Kravtsov - Compo Entry

Use <- and -> or A and D to control the character.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#111Mood3.65
#157Overall3.70
#202Graphics3.68
#206Innovation3.62
#233Theme4.00
#267Fun3.45

Comments

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37am

Clever puzzler and great aesthetic!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40am

Cool graphics and I really like the camera effects.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:42am

Great use of lights

zulman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

I feel my inner star, this developer is awesome :) Nice work with low poly again and one more game without AA :)

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Interesting use of both themes.
Stuck on getting to 8 PC.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Nice entry.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

awesome! clever use of both themes, nice visuals, bravo!

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48am

It has an interesting mechanics, you can make a whole game with levels, bosses, etc.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35am

Nice style with the colored lights. Played longer because of stuff the guy says :)

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

Nice use of themes. Could've used some audio though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Very nice. It's a pity that you didn't have time to make some audio. Also, the monologue text is a bit difficult to read (too small and disappears too fast)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Nice puzzles and level progression. I really like the lightning effects. Cool game!

Suaave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02pm

All these lights make that house look like a disco! Pity that there's no disco sound. Still, short and entertaining. Cute ending.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36am

Отличная игра, спасибо за настроение!
Фразы главного героя это потрясающе, ровно как и финал)

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55am

Not a bad little game here. I feel my inner star :)

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Great! Hello from Minsk!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Nice looking and clever puzzle. Funny that we had a similiar idea. :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Fun game and nice Christmas tree! Thanks for the game!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:06am

Nice game, and merry Christmas to you too.

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:44am

Nice lighting and clever little puzzle game!

redmassacre says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:39pm

soft colours and lightning and funny idea )

gelisam says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:20pm

I really liked the ending :)

ranmaru90 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:49am

Cool! Merry Christmas!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]