Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Family Tree

by bwatanabe - Jam Entry

Clarence must reunite with his family and return home.
A moody side scroller created from antique photos and pencil drawings.

Controls:
Left/Right arrows to move, Space to jump, Down arrow to duck
or
A and D left and right, W to jump, S to duck

Update: Thanks for letting me know about the controller issue. The web and Windows versions have been updated, and should no longer have any problem with the controls.
Thanks!

Created in Unity 5.
Background music by Climax Golden Twins. Other audio from freesound.org.
Some of the photos and drawings were repurposed from other animation projects.

This is my first Ludum Dare, and I really enjoyed it! I had hoped to get more gameplay in, but ended up focusing on the characters and the graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#123Mood(Jam)3.82
#253Graphics(Jam)3.93
#490Innovation(Jam)3.18
#783Overall(Jam)3.02
#921Fun(Jam)2.59
#950Theme(Jam)2.95

Comments

Drunkain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

I'm so disapointed that you didn't particapite in art :( same for sound, it's really cool, I love you style!

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19am

I loved it, but for some reason moving right was got very sluggish and I couldn't even jump over the fire. The style is great though!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:37am

I greatly enjoyed this, one of the strangely moody games you don't get to see much of. I like the photos, good call!

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Good game!

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Really nice art style! good mood. Some bug with the controls though..

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Hi! Thanks for the game!
The mood is all yours! This art make my day!
Most style one I ever saw!

'HorrorBook' or "headcollector")
It woold be cool with using pfotos from chernobyl.
Scary movie on fallot settting.

But without this cartoon stile woolf..
Annoying sound feet great here! Terrible controller as well.

Well done and Good luck!

JayProg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

Loved the photobook style.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

The windows dropbox link gives a 404 error

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29am

I can't say that this is the most fun game I've played, but damn, that mood... I think you may have found a new approach to a horror game here. It was genuinely creepy.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:10am

По-моему, мир мерцает.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:02am

Could not run the game.

There should be 'FamilyTree_Data'
folder next to the executable

Even though the folder was there.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:23am

What the eff was that...?? (In a good way) Hahaha, it was strange and twisted, and I laughed the whole time. Pretty sure I won't find another game like this any time soon. Definitely memorable, art style was awesome.

carlsommer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:55am

Best graphics and mood I've seen so far! Very clever, and it's wonderful you could implement all of these photos into your game!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:07am

Pleasantly unsettling. Had trouble playing this, think it's my video card though.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

wow nice, strange but nice

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:50am

haha, this was very strange and exciting and atmospheric. Cool idea with the photocollage-style. Inspiring.

beetracks says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:10am

Personally I don't like the mood of this game, but it is well done. I like the animation and the use of the pictures. Good job.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:12am

Didn't foresee family tree not being family friendly.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:13am

Creepy and awesome!

That ending makes me wonder about the meaning of all this. I mean the uniformed clothing, the photos, and the flying hands seem to make one think "Oh, THAT is what this is about", but then you get to the end and it's like "Wait, why is THIS here?"

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:01am

Ok, that was creepy. Reminded me a bit of Monty Python or maybe Eraserhead :D

The controls didn't really work like expected, I had trouble getting past the end thing. Eventually did, but it felt kind of like a glitch that I did. I alternated jumping and ducking and got past it (not sure if it was supposed to play out that way).

hyperscope says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:51am

I absolutely love moody games like these! The way you incorporated the photos was also really well done. Honestly one of the more memorable games for me. Having said that the clipping seemed wonky a lot of the time. On a few occasions I got stuck due to a hand forcing me below the level. And took me a bit before I realized I had to duck to get past the fox thingy.

Not sure how I feel about the use of the theme but on the other hand I don't care :P

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 10, 2016 @ 2:31pm

I agree very strange!
I couldn't figure out how to get past the wolf though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]