Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stock Pop

by shellbot - Compo Entry

A game about buying and selling stocks. And desperately trying to reach your quota in time. Grow you networth with just two choices.

Left/Right to move.
Space to select / Buy share.
V to sell share.

The final game over screen was not completed and will always show 0G for everything.

Fixed the "Expired Error"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#571Innovation3.00
#657Graphics2.78
#809Mood2.33
#923Overall2.53
#924Theme2.61
#929Fun2.16
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I got this error when I tried to run the browser version. . .

<Error><Code>ExpiredToken</Code><Message>The provided token has expired.</Message><Details>Request has expired: 1450060693</Details></Error>

Oski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I had no idea what to do. Clean looking graphics and interesting stats.

sichevoid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Getting token expired as well..

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I couldn't work out even how to get off the main menu. You should add some instructions.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice game although this idea isn't pretty good for a game.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03pm

No matter what I do, I always get the same end screen where every value says "0G".
The sound effects are really irritating.

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Cant...play it!!
Get this error "ExpiredTokenThe provided token has expired.Request has expired: 1450060693"

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

couldn't play the game

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Didn't run: ExpiredTokenThe provided token has expired.Request has expired: 1450060693

sim9 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Not sure if there is a strategy or if it is random investment, it seems random currently. I think it would be more engaging if there was a strategy element to choosing the stocks (maybe I am just missing it though :))

someone says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Ok, I have no idea whats going on.
Also the embedded version above just shows an error but the web link works.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Isn't running for me either.

ExpiredTokenThe provided token has expired.Request has expired: 1450060693

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Didn't understand what to do, or what it does.

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I like the concept. Seems a bit hard though; I would recommend lowering the quotas by a LOT. Maybe even make the first level's quota "Don't make a net loss."

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31pm

if it wasnt completely random eg. you could read news or pay for shady info then it would be replayable. as it is, you just fight rng gods and thats not fun.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:16am

I wanted to buy a share but i could only on lat stock. Didn't know what to do. Concept is quite intresting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]