Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Striangle Journey

by Bobsleigh - Jam Entry

Here's our first game! We are three beginners in game programming and we worked real hard to get this platformer prototype going. We coded everything from scratch in Python using Pygame. We tried to do a release for Windows without any dependencies, let us know is you have trouble running it. We know Avast antivirus seems to cause our game (and all of Python) problems for some reason.

You are a triangle dreaming of climbing the polygon hierarchy and becoming the ultimate shape, the circle. Travel throught the land and find those shiny PowerUps that add a side to your shape and a new skill to your arsenal.

If you reach the circle shape then go back to your house, you win!

Controls:

Arrows or WASD = Moving around
SPACE = Jump
LEFTSHIFT = Special skill (shoot, dash, try it out!)
1 to 5 = Change your shape. Only unlocked shapes will be available.
Red PowerUp fills back you health (and already acquired sides).
Blue PowerUp increases you number of sides. You want those.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#695Audio(Jam)2.24
#705Humor(Jam)2.29
#848Innovation(Jam)2.61
#918Mood(Jam)2.50
#921Fun(Jam)2.59
#948Overall(Jam)2.77
#961Graphics(Jam)2.32
#1077Theme(Jam)2.25

Comments

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Really hard and fun! Liked the power up to square to wall jump! Really quick movements. Weeeee.

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Linux version or source code please. It doesn't run on wine

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Seems like a cool concept with a lot of work put into it, but the crazy fast movement speed and lack of checkpoints combine to make it really frustrating to play. Maybe when the player dies, let them keep their powers and respawn on the screen that killed them. Or just let them keep their upgrades and respawn at the beginning. I'd like to play more, so let me know if you ever do something about the instant reset deaths. Cool game otherwise!

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00pm

I like your concept. I got stuck though. After I turned into square, I bumped into a triangle and was a triangle again, I then went back to the place where I became a square because I thought I could become one again. But I couldnt get out of it because I couldnt double jump anymore.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Pretty nice music. the game was pretty tough too.

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Fun platformer, fairly difficult.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Sorry, I can't play Windows games.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

The game is cool, especially since you're brand new to programming. But I will say the character moves VERY fast, and I couldn't get that far. You did a good job!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I was having trouble progressing after picking up the square. I could not double jump. I really like the concept and I am sure it would be really fun.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Very nice game, I think the concept is clever. But I have some major problems with it.

First - why the hell does key "c" close the window? Like... why? I had to actually remove it from my keyboard because I kept pushing it by accident. It was very frustrating.

Second - the movement was too fast, like others mentioned.

Third - the red thingies should be respawn points. It was very frustrating that I had to go through the whole game all over again when I failed that jump near the end. If only it wasn't so linear maybe.

Also, ingame instructions are missing, and the controls are not intuitive (shift).

But like I said, I really like the concept.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:56am

When I try to run the .exe, I get the following error message:

A Striangle Journey.exe - Entry Point Not Found

The procedure entry point ucrtbase.terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

I realized I could provide a bit more information, sorry. I'm using Windows 7: Home Premium edition.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Cool game, like the others said, it's too hard XD but it's fun, i like the graphics, simply but efficiant :) .

Pikkufighter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

just says URL signature expired when i try to play

ragnta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Please fix the url, and write to me again :) I would like to play your game :)

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I can't play: URL signature expired

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:51pm

url signature expired

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Sorry for the URL problem, it should be fixed now. Let me know if you guys have any other trouble running the game, and looking foward to your feedback!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice game. Really liked your art style.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47pm

The game is really hard.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Nice idea, could definitely use some tuning though. Too hard to not have some sort of checkpoint system. Also, may want a little more in the way of onscreen instructions, like giving what power you get when you pick up a new shape (though not necessary, it would add a little bit).

Especially nice job for a first game. Don't get discouraged with any of the criticisms here, most of us are just trying to help you improve (we've improved immensely from our first game jam by listening to criticism, just don't let it get you down).

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Contrary to my previous experiences, your python game ran without issues. Well done (: Except that it shut down when I lowered my volume (fn+f6...?)

Fun game! Very hard, mostly because it's hard to coordinate walljumps while moving that fast. The mechanics are solid though. The music and sounds weren't special, but they were there and fitted the game nicely. The graphics were also simple and not ugly. Good job!

uthamon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:39pm

It was intense, hard but I like hard video games. Making that big jump with yellow's power-up was nice idea to implement and making it the second time, while going back to home was nerve-wracking. :) When I made it to the end it gave this satisfaction after trying and I'm overall happy with Your charming game.

Could I ask You to give me some kind of contact information to You? Like an email? I'd like to send You a pm regarding Your comment to my game. If you don't feel comfortable with typing out Your email adress publicly here, but are ok with messaging me, send me an email at uthamon@rocketmail.com

uthamon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I meant uthamon@hotmail.com Sorry for that typo.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

I liked the idea of progressing through shapes, and it was clever that when you die you turn into a line segment :3. I played it for about 15 minutes, and it was pretty fun!

Just a few critiques:
- The level's layout seemed a little confusing. First you go right, grab the square morph, then you go back to the left of the beginning and grab the pentagon morph, and go back right past the hole with the square morph again. It may help players if the progression is more linear, or, if you give the player hints on which direction they should go in (I had a hard time at first figuring out how to progress after getting the square morph).
- Getting hurt and losing your form basically makes it so that it is impossible to progress (for example, I got the pentagon morph and then I lost it, which made it impossible to travel into the hallway with all of the patrolling enemies).

Good job on your first game!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:14am

The controls are a little slippery, but this game provide a nice challenge! I like how the number of shapes you can turn into depends on your health. nice job!

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Wow is this fast. It's not necessarily a bad thing to be fast in a platformer. It just means that your controls have to be really tight too. Super Meat Boy is a good example of that. I also ran into the bug where you die as a square and can no longer double jump once I came back and got the square again. There's a lot of game here though so good job you / team. Are you planning to put up the source code? You mentioned on my entry this was written in Pygame and I'm interested to see how you managed the different screens as you progress in the game.

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43am

I can't run the game unfortunately, I get a error about a missing "ucrt.terminate" in "api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll". (Windows 7 + disabled Avast)

alhvi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:05am

Good job on your fist game! I also think the character moves too fast. I think it makes the game very difficult. Congratulations on making your first game. Keep up the work ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]