Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries


by razieliyo - Jam Entry

You are a virus infecting an organism.

The editor is included. You can make new levels and substitute them for any of the present! :)

Apologies for the rusty & buggy state of the editor.

(sfx) vanilino6
(gfx) nosghy
(gfx) gonzobrain
(dev) razieliyo


Downloads and Links




CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am


Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10am

Bit confusing at start. Gets better after a few minutes, well done.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Great game! The music and sounds are quite good and the visuals are pleasing. Quite difficult, I only got up to LVL-5 but I'll be keeping this game around, maybe I'll take another crack at it sometime.

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Nice concept!
Just a little hard to understand the mechanics, but it was really nice!

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

Strange mechanism. But very interesting approach

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

Overall a really interesting concept. You have to move strategicly make your moves in order to get to the next level. Nicely done!

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

The music and graphics are nice, and the game itself is a pretty interesting puzzle game. Including a level editor is also really nice.

I think the instructions at the beginning are too long. It would have been nice to have a series of simple tutorial levels that introduced each of the mechanics, rather than a wall of text to read through. (You have a level editor, so this shouldn't have been too hard to do.)

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

Impressive. I just wish I could understand the mechanics. XD

razieliyo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Sorry but the in-game instructions are outdated. At game screenshots you can check full instructions.

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Never starts..

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

I'm impressed! You even got documentation in there. That's one thing I needed in my game. Also, fun to play, and easy to understand. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Pretty complicated. Could do with a tutorial, but I like where the idea is going. Music & sound is nifty too, if a bit lo-fi. And the editor certainly stands out, even if it's buggy!

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52am

Overall good, created a nice tense atmosphere. I gave up on level 5 because it was very tedious waiting for healing and bots to stop chasing you. I think level 4 was a perfect mix of suspense, frustration, and reward.

Fun fact - If you drag the screen while you are moving, your character will miss the node and fly into empty space.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56am

When I got past the tutorial screen it said start node not set and then nothing happened. Your build may be broken.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29am

Although this is not my type of game and I had a lot of difficulty understanding the main mechanics, I can see that a lot of work was put into this and that people that are into this type of game would enjoy it.

razieliyo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26am

@mattlevonian: it sounds like the executable is not finding any level, please make sure you have the 'levels' folder near all the other files.

razieliyo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

@Troma: please make sure you have Java JRE installed.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

It looks like fun, but I get a "start node not set" message when it tries to load a level. I'm running Linux. I'd like to give it a try so hopefully you can fix it still!

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Nice pixel art graphics and it has interesting mechanics. Great game!

razieliyo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

@Dining Philosopher: I also use linux. It is weird that you get that, it seems like it's not loading levels well, you should have the levels folder next to the executable and it should run. If the error is from the editor, it is that you just need to place a startnode in order to play a level. Can you tell if the 'levels' folder is next to the executable? thanks for the interest!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Awesome game, loved the pixel art, especially the way everything had a little animation going on. The mechanics seemed really neat as well, full of neat touches like realizing that faster routes will lose you less HP, or that your safer retreating to an area you control during an alert.

Couldn't work out what actually caused alerts to happen though. It pretty much seemed random, which was a real pain. Got level 5 down to just 3 blue nodes and 80 seconds left... then every time I stepped on any of them I'd get an alert. This happened 4 or 5 times in a row and I ran outta time. Really sucks to run out of time while you're hiding, it's not like you can do anything about it since you can't even attempt to capture nodes in the state. Seems like i'm missing something.

Anyway, I would totally have kept going if I wasn't stuck. Thought it was fantastic in pretty much every way.

razieliyo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

@Cake_Catastrophe: thanks for the comments! detection is random, but there are two things that affect the probability: the quality of the node (green the least, red the most) and your health (lower your health, higher the probability).

You can use stealth to trade some time for health, and also not get detected. You also gain time by infecting nodes.

razieliyo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:33am

And another detail: you can infect nodes in stealth node, but you can't while detected.

BlazzGuy says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:15am

Neat puzzle game. Definitely feels like there is an optimal way to do things, and the themes are well used.

BMacIntosh says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Cool design. A bit frustrating - since it takes so long to do a level, if you slip up near the end there's a lot to repeat. I would have liked to have had a better idea of when the enemies were going to spawn (it seemed to be around 82%, but I have no idea what other factors contribute to that). The enemies might be too powerful - on the earlier levels there's usually nowhere to escape from them, and on the later levels they waste so much time as to make the level very hard to finish.

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]