Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dancing Adventure

by The Walking Kiwi - Jam Entry

Hey guys! I'm just gonna keep it short because it is the second time I write this and I am really tired. We kinda made it. Our idea was that by using the Two Button theme make a game where creatures came to atack you and you had to kill them by inserting a code formed by A and D. I like the path we took and I am still happy with the result. Now we have a base for a really good game idea that we plan to finish off later on.
What we plan on doing:
-Fixing EVERYTHING
-Adding Enemies
-Adding Bosses
-Adding Items
You can follow our updates on Game Jolt if you are interested:
http://gamejolt.com/profile/the-walking-kiwi/1084842

If it glitches out (it probably will) just restart it.
You can't open files yet :/

Again, I we are truely sorry for not being able to make it more playable, but at least it's something.
Please be free to rate whatever you see fair, we are still proud of our work, and we did our best.
Any bug or glitch you find please point it out! If you have any ideas for improvement be sure to leave them in the comments.

Credits:
Game created by:
Ramiro Richieri
Camilo Gallardo
Guillermo Zolessi

-Primary Programmer:
Camilo Gallardo
(He did most of the hard work but I helped a little bit ;-; -GZ)

-Art by:
Guillermo Zolessi

-Music by:
Ramiro Richieri

-Sound Effects:
Ramiro Richieri
Guillermo Zolessi

-Voice acting:
Alexandra (Thanks <3)
Guillermo Zolessi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Humor(Jam)3.17
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#658Audio(Jam)2.52
#724Overall(Jam)3.10
#757Mood(Jam)2.90
#836Innovation(Jam)2.64
#843Graphics(Jam)2.73
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Nice It was really funny to play it. I loved the graphics!! Pixel Art for the win!!!!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

it has some obvious issues with it but the core the game was enjoyable and I found myself getting up to wave 20ish before slipping up. great work :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00am

Thanks for the compliments, we'll try to fix everything soon!

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12am

Nice one, cool pixel art graphics and cool gameplay :)

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21am

I liked the gameplay mechanics. It felt very responsive. Music was very jarring though and could use some work.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03pm

very funny

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Nice start. Start menu audio is a bit obnoxious, but the rest of the music is cool. Nifty graphics and a fun "dancing" mechanic - good start!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Neat little game with interesting mechanics. The music at the start put my off quite a lot, and the repeating mashing of buttons got boring after a while, however the graphics and mood of the game made up for it. Well done! :)

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Nice game play with the two buttons, good mood and fun to play, i liked it, could just have been a bit more challenging for more fun !

LazyDev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Liked your character skins.

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:10am

Fun little game! It takes a lot of time to advance without the difficulty increasing much. I loved the stores and the corresponding sounds though! The music didn't seem to loop properly and it started playing the track again whenever I returned to the main menu without stopping one that was already playing.
Otherwise, the game works well and is easily understandable. Great work, I'd love to see a post-compo version of this! :)

Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Ambitious game. The music is too loud and completely drowned out the store keeper's voice over line.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]