Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Beard

by Luke - Jam Entry

Grow your beard by shooting aliens!

Grow your beard fully to unleash the power of the SUPER BEARD.

Right click the green selection square things to move.
Click while in cover to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#69Fun(Jam)3.88
#72Humor(Jam)3.81
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#323Graphics(Jam)3.78
#383Innovation(Jam)3.32
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#499Theme(Jam)3.69

Comments

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Loved it! Shooting is really satisfying, but I die by accidentally clicking the green selection squares sometimes when shooting.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Too muçu fun, good concept

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Hilariously fun! I absolutely love how simple it is. The cover mechanic is very well implemented aside from the occasional accidental move while trying to shoot.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Would have been nice to have two separate keys for move and shoot, just so i dont accidentally move...Other than that, fun game, good work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Nice game, fun and easy mechanic. I also liked the camera effekt!

Milo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23pm

I found it very amusing when I first learned what super beard did.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I would definitely switch the moving to rmb, because I've accidentally ran into my death too many times.
Fun game, played for a while without really noticing where the theme was and had to come back here to check. Music and sounds were nice, shooting felt satisfying.

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Alright, movement is now controlled by rmb :D

MattThePie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

This is glorious, great premise and really fun! The only issue I had was I keep clicking outside the window in panic, which hides it. Absolutely love the super beard mechanic

Haighstrom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

The controls feel great, and the art is lovely. I like the music and the sound effects are amusing.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Not bad, not bad. I guess we need more games centered around beards.

Red says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Fun game! Only had some Problem because i died often when moving to the next cover and getting overrun by enemies that were outside my view before. Also looks really good.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I like it very fun :)

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13am

Shooting feels awesome!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18am

Impressive in all categories! Very solid and fun and the voice is great too. Good job!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43am

Really fun game! I like the super beard explosion but the sound is a little too loud and can be annoying. Great game feel with the screen shake and general effects.

socapex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

So far, the best game I've tried! Love the camera movement, the idea awesome, beards are cool. I'd say its a bit hard (no hp), but gj! Really good!

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

SUPER BEEAARD
Loved it, especially the amazing voice acting. :D

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Simple yet fun shooter.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:04am

Hah! I was not prepared for the Super Beard effect. xD Shooting feels good, vulnerability while dashing for ammo works well. Nice.

alfie275 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Hey Luke, I did a playthrough of your game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmqA5rb735s

Gipzo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:42am

Interesting mechanics, nice sounds and pretty graphics :)
It's better not to click on cover to go there and just go where mouse is pointing to the next cover, IMO.

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:44am

The shooting is a lot of fun. Occasionally there is a problem where the hero gets stuck behind an ammo crate. Fun game.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Nice graphics, funny idea. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

alfie275 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Very funny game :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Really fun game! The overall aesthetic is very well done, and -If I had to nitpick- it would be better if the camera was a bit more zoomed out, since it would allow you to see the incoming zombies more easily. Otherwise, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]