Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Drunken Executioner

by karlipoppins - Compo Entry

You are Eugene, the executioner... And you have a drinking problem.

Luckily for you, the most beloved King has entrusted you with the important tool to educate the people: the death penalty.

Engage in this EPIC adventure by using all of the following keys on your keyboard:
[X] to aim
[C] to shoot

Have fun! :)

Theme: 2 Button Control
Tools used: Photoshop, Audacity, Sublime
Frameworks: HaxeFlixel

Note: The HTML5 export from haxeflixel forces the game to fill your browser window. To enhance the experience, the game will be opened up in a popup window at the right size. Check your popup blocker if you don't see anything happening...

Everything is licensed under MIT. Distribute and use at will.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#29Humor3.96
#121Mood3.62
#124Overall3.76
#178Fun3.61
#233Audio3.19
#238Innovation3.56
#301Theme3.94
#372Graphics3.31

Comments

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

This is actually really well formed and fleshed out. I liked the story mode, and the extra challenges that you put in to each level. Well done!

dekart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

Interesting game, well done.

Few thoughts:
* The delay in the tavern is kinda long, I'd prefer to go to next mission faster without waiting for the king. Being able to skip such moments is always good.
* Shooting would be more interesting if the progress on pressing C would go back and forward endlessly, not just to highest and back to lowest.
* Aiming screen could be larger - a lot of screen space isn't used and you have to focus on a very small window which isn't very comfortable for weak eyes.

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

I like how you added the bonuses to make each level different.

tjxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

Fun game! The fonts seemed a little off, but that didn't take away from the fun at all, imo.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46am

Interesting and unique game! I will say that there was a lot of waiting, I guess I'm inpatient

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16am

Full points for humor. Fun game. The definition of eternity is waiting for your drunken aim to wander back over the target. The crowd fell asleep. ;-)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

Fine game ! I liked it, and got the mercifull achievement. :D

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Wow, this is awesome for a compo-- a fleshed out story and fun gameplay, along with nicely drawn graphics! I love all the details. I will say the text on some screens gets really hairy especially against your clean pixel details. Full points for humor, and I like the simple but fun music. Overall super fun!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50am

Achievement Unlocked: The Hound. Well executed.. lol. See what I did there :D

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:53am

Nice entry. I loved playing this. great work

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01am

really liked getting to shoot the king at the end :D

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Couldn't get it to work. When I first started the game it got stuck in a loop on the "how to play" menu. The second time i tried x and c did nothing on the menu screen :(

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Nice! This was great! I liked how the different crimes gave you different targets to aim for on the body. I wasn't very accurate with my shots, though. At the end I was aiming to take out the king, but I accidentally shot the victim right in the head! Oops!

Well done, great entry!

mard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Awesome game! Feels pretty polished and plays nicely

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:21pm

A very novel mechanic makes this enjoyable indeed. Though, small issue, losing focus means I had to restart the game because I couldn't regain it.

cudabear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

A solid entry! It felt really rewarding to hit the guy where the king asked you to, haha. The aiming felt a bit poor, sometimes I was waiting for several minutes for the aim to line up with where I wanted to fire. But I was usually able to hit the target (or near) when it did. The art gets the job done, but seems a bit sloppy (lots of anti-aliasing on text and assets, while none on other). Audio is nice, particularly loved the king's voice! Well done.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This is really cool and fun! The different missions are silly, I really liked how there was a little moral choice =P Great job!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Very fun, unique game! I loved the mechanics and each mission had an interesting backstory! Keep up the good work!

Lizandros says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:01pm

This game realy made me feel like drunk executioner :) I like its storytelling and critical shots.

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Nice concept, cool game to play, GG !

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33am

Ha, clever. I love the gameplay mechanics, though I wish there was some way to redirect the reticle so I don't have to wait so long for the perfect shot.

(I'll also have to dock a point on "humor" for relying on the old "you did the right thing and everyone suffered for it" twist. ;) )

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:09am

I didn't want to kill the last woman :(
I couldn't find the way to save her.

A little sadistic but fun.

Higher resolution text would be better.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I found it a fun game - though the waiting on the redicale at times was boring - just wanted to get back to my pint! :) I LOVE the idea, very cool and with it having a story mode (never good enough to get that extra gold) - it really makes it for a lot of fun.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:30am

hi!
Cool entry, enjoyed playing this a lot. Interesting mechanic and setting. The hit-feedback was neat. Story with different endings - top nice! The Sound was fitting good.
I liked the grafics overall, some inconsistency with the fonts.

Nice work, congrats!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:01am

Oh man! The actual firing is super brutal! The fact that you can aim at different body parts is pretty cool - good work! I just wish that that reticle were more cooperative

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:21am

This was great! I enjoyed the goofy story and the surprise near the end.

One issue with gameplay was that I never really got a handle on how wind and shot strength worked. Part of this was that I don't know what the max wind speed is, part of it is that I can't actually see where my shots go, just whether they miss or not, so I don't know if I over-adjusted or under-adjusted for wind and shot strength. One game I've seen that has really clear wind indicators is "Ball King" - it uses more arrows to indicate stronger wind without mentioning literal speed at all.

Also, does hitting the "slow" button change direction after? Sometimes I felt like that was happening but I wasn't sure. If not, that could be a good feature to keep the crosshairs from getting stuck in the corner - something like "reverse direction when slow button released".

Anyway, thanks for making this!

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I really liked this game! thank you. Nice concept!

gmatsura says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Fun game, nice mechanics. I like the humor. I wasn't able to figure out what to do on the Bella stage though.

EwChap says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:53am

Fun game. Love the idea and execution...

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:02am

Interesting game. Very mood and humor.

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Interesting game with a nice user interface (once playing). I had to size down the window to be able to read the text as it was overly blury however great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]