Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Anglerfish

by chrizdekok - Compo Entry

Your sea plant is growing and growing.

Control: left or right (alt. A or D)
Gain points: Touch angler fishes
Loose points: Touch yellow fishes.

If you are running the OSX version it seems to need X11 to be installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#282Theme3.96
#371Fun3.30
#549Humor2.23
#658Mood2.72
#673Overall3.00
#840Innovation2.44
#878Graphics2.00

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49am

cant play the web version sorry

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

I liked bein a plant.
But the end part is really hard.
Nice work.

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Pretty cool, but the camera makes me dizzy.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Good game, I played about 10 times before I realised that the anglerfish give you health back.

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Simple game, well implemented.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Is there an ending? I got 742. It seems impossible after taht point.

Anyway, I really like your fusion of themes here. I think it should be clearer that you are supposed to eat fish. Also, it would help if fish were facing both directions. The artwork is.... interesting.... I really like the art on plant though. I also like the feel of progress with the environment getting lighter.

It could use some music or something like that too.

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Why didn't I think of this and that :)

There is no ending and i think it's getting way to hard at one point :/
Anglerfishes are happy -> eat them
Jelly fishes are angry -> avoid them
Just like real life :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

nice, love the tree generation process and how the game starts to zoom out and become harder. good use of both themes

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Wow, that get's really hard at the end! Also I felt that collision detection wasn't completly working. Sometimes my plant was touching a fish or yellyfish a little but noting happened.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Good game, control was slick and the sea plant graphics was cool.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

fishes went extinct when I grew too high..
Liked the game. Matching both themes nicely.

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13pm

YAY! 674! :-) I liked the graphic, the sea plant looked really nice. Nicely done!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Fun quick game

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Nice job here! Maybe add some smoothing to the movement left and right, but other than that a well implemented little package :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48pm

wow, for something so simple looking, it provided a lot of fun, nice job!

the plant growing effect was cool, the controls were tight, and overall I found myself playing this for quite a while haha, I guess it's just relaxing to grow a little sea-plant

Excellent work :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Fun is here, the difficulty curve is a bit steep and mb could be enhanced by adding slowly moving ennemies rather than densifying medusas :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:44am

It reminded me of the game Ridiculous Fishing :) That's a good thing!
The graphics are minimal, but it doesn't matter in my opinion. The controls are responsive, I had the feeling I was in control all the time.
Good job!

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:34pm

That got a bit too fast pretty quickly and I didn't understand what I had to do at first. Well done otherwise.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:15am

interesting take on the infinite runner. The pan out when you speed up is a nice touch.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:08pm

A frantic little game that seemed challenging and was very satisfying to play. The graphics could've used some work, but otherwise I liked the game, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]