Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hero Feed Co.

by SkullPixel - Compo Entry

​Built within 48 hours for Ludum Dare 34: Two Button Controls/Growing. You may notice Two Button Controls was the theme used.
Try and stay alive as long as you can in a monster's office break-room! I should also mention lunging into the enemy doesn't do anything good for you. My entire family was trying to lunge into the monsters and dying.


Controls//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Knight follows the mouse. Click to lunge towards the cursor. Right click to stop completely for more fancy maneuvers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#158Humor3.20
#163Graphics3.82
#345Audio2.94
#468Mood2.97
#619Innovation2.92
#632Overall3.06
#731Fun2.78
#796Theme3.26

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28am

lunging is not working?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

Really fun game. It's quite difficult, though. Really nice graphics. Great work!

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Very nice idea. Pretty hard to get at first because controls are not very smooth. Maybe it's just the web version laggin.
Love the art side though !

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:08pm

@blohod, I had some family playing the game last night, and it was working for all of us.

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:26pm

i like that you need to attract enemies to yourself and kill them that way. but i wish controls to be more responsive

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

Really hard. Loved the graphics and the sounds are great. I'm particularly found of the menu graphics with the snack conveyor belt. I didn't like how often I'd get stuck on a couch and there were a couple close together that looked like i could get through, but wouldn't fit. Also, I think the end tables need more contrast if they are going to block movement. Fun challenge though.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Tricky, partly due to the challenge of the controls, and partly due to the cramped level design. Since the knight orbits the cursor so far away, he's got kind of an "icy floor" vibe to his movements. I ended up trying to lunge whenever I could, but I still didn't get very far.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

Really fun game!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

good idea, some places are too tight and the controls are not as tight.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56pm

The graphics are excellent and the audio work is good too. The running is a bit inaccurate and I felt I was just sliding around when running. A fun game in any case, enjoyed my time.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Lunging seems to only work half the time unless i'm doing something wrong (entirely possible). Stopping with the right mouse button just seems to get me killed, don't see any fancy maneuvers. I love the concept and the graphics are good but I just kept getting eaten and lost interest quickly

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

I really like that you keep the design of the game simple. Overall a good concept. Like others are saying, the controls are a little clunky and need more work (however, I used a trackpad so maybe not the best tool for the job). The graphics are great, simple but still looks good. I feel like the AI needs some work, the enemies get stuck a lot, which unfortunately makes the game less enjoyable.

Conclussion: Nice concept, great art, but the execution can be better.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Really difficult, despite the enemies being quite dumb. I do like the idea of luring them being your only means of offense though. Great art style and concept.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Nice entry! I like the graphic and the gameplay is smooth. well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

the setting of the game is very nice, i really like that you don't always pop out of the same cage, nice attention to detail :) and yeah the game is hard :3

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56pm

hi , nice job on this like the graphics :) controls seemed weird on web :( couldnt get past the enemies :(

Well Done on the game!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25am

This game has nice graphics, a nice gameplay idea and cool gameplay elements. However, it is made very difficult because of the controls and unforgiving level design.

I wish there was another way to control the character, as I do like the concept of using level hazards to kill the enemies and being sneaky about it (or should I say snacky?)

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Frustratingly hard but I really love the idea of the game. It would be great to have some slower/stupider enemies at the beginning so you can figure out the gameplay somewhat.

Art style is great, works very well.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Enjoyed it! Good job!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Nice 8bit graphics. Once I worked out that I couldn't attack it got fun, then when I realized the spikes hurt the enemies it got more fun! Really challenging!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:02am

Loved the Graphics and Sound. The level is a little tight in places but over all the game was well designed.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:43am

Didn't understand lunging, seems like should be explained (ingame) that it doesn't kill monsters/do anything.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Nice graphics! :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Really difficult, didn't get very far, sadly. The art style is very nice and consistent, the sounds fits in very well.

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Great entry. Took a few to get used to the controls but the game is quite fun.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:09am

Challenging, but fun. Good job. :)

PeteDS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Great Game, Graphics are good and overall the game is fun!

squigglez says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:59am

fun game, good work!

kmakai says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:37pm

This is fun! It's quite difficult, but I am enjoying the challenge. Nice job with the art, it's a cool style! The premise was pretty humorous as well, and I liked the additional touch of popping out of the "snack" machines to start the game. Great job!

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:43am

Nice mechanic. Tight layout lead to a getting caught on edges often, which is frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]