Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

It's Something

by RougeRogue - Jam Entry

Albeit even attempting Ludum Dare this time around being nigh impossible due to my exams, I have managed to create a game, and a rhythm game, something I've been struggling with for a long time, no less (which really is the whole point of Ludum Dare, isn't it?). If you'll excuse the title screen, the game features three original tracks, ascending in difficulty from one to three. The controls are as follows:

Keyboard:
-Z key = Red Target
-M key = Blue Target

Gamepad:
-Left on D-Pad = Red Target
-X button = Blue Target

IMPORTANT:
Due to my inability to find a way around this, this game is NOT potato-compatible due to issues that may occur due to lag that are totally game-breaking. In other words, if you find that the notes have gone off-beat, this means that your PC is not strong enough. My laptop can run it just fine and I assure you it is not powerful by any means, so most, if not all, of the people playing this should be fine; however, if you do experience lag, try to restart the stage until the lag is gone. If it does not work, kindly do not rate the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#113Audio(Jam)3.82
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#642Humor(Jam)2.42
#735Fun(Jam)2.89
#839Mood(Jam)2.71
#848Innovation(Jam)2.61
#857Overall(Jam)2.93
#998Graphics(Jam)2.07

Comments

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28am

Fun, simple rhythm game! After a few failed balls I got it. Also, it may be good to label "Z" and "X" on the 2 sides - I figured it out pretty fast though.

I love the "Game Over" effect where the pitch drops off!

Nice job overall.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37am

I liked the music, but it seems like the entry perhaps has issues. The game ran, and well, but the balls seemed not to align with the beat (playing on my beastly gaming machine, if it can't stay in sync, I'm not sure what could). Restarting the stage didn't seem to work either.

With some polish, I could see this doing well. A rhythm game is an ambitious entry either way, and to have something even this functional is impressive. Well done.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59am

Fun game, and the music was awesome! :D
As for the balls not staying in sync, I think it might have something to do with delta time in GameMaker?

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Fun little game that has potential. One thing I found that for me, the balls were too far apart so I had to switch my focus from left to right. The game would be easier to play if the two "tracks" were a bit closer together imho.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Geez this is hard! The first song is doable but the second one is like lightning speed haha. Nice work though, especially if you're doing exams :) Love rhythm games though (I made a broken one last LD).

Btw is there a reason why the bar is so close to the bottom of the screen? It would be really helpful to be hitting them around the top and not when you've only got around 100px to determine what the pattern is :P

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Can't play windows games. Looks interesting... What does potato-compatible mean.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Potato refers to really weak computers although according to the comments here, there was a user with a powerful machine who still experienced lag. Not sure how that happened but it did. Also to answer Reccy, I looked into the whole delta_time thing but I can't seem to figure out a way to use it to my advantage due to my poor coding. I'll keep trying to fix it and reupload the game with a bug fix since I believe that is allowed.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Not terrible, but a bit bland. Music was nice though :D

gironC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

simple but awesome, great game!

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35am

Fun little rhythm game that kicked my butt repeatedly. It'd be nice to have a little more screenspace as warning for when the button presses come up, but the challenge of it was enjoyable as well. Great job, and good luck on exams!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02am

Looks can be deceiving - the game was actually very fun! I liked the funky fresh beats!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:59pm

@RogueRogue make sure you edit the description, if you do solve those issues coming back to it. I'd love to try it again!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:49am

The balls and the music didn't seem to sync up? I found myself awkwardly pressing z and m without understanding what it had to do with the audio playing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]