Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Electric Dodgeball

by ondrejbalas - Compo Entry

This is my second-ever Ludum Dare, and first time succeeding at making a complete game. All graphics are procedurally generated on the fly. The Perlin noise algorithm was used for background noise.

The game itself was all written using the Phaser javascript game engine, with code written in TypeScript within Visual Studio 2015.

In this game you will be controlling two growing balls of electricity.

Control the left one by using the A and D keys, and the right one with the Left and Right arrow keys. They cannot move independently and must be moved TOGETHER.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Innovation3.82
#133Theme4.13
#301Fun3.39
#536Overall3.17
#538Mood2.89
#688Graphics2.70
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

Fun game, I liked your take on the two button theme. Hitting 'enter' to restart after a game over would be nice. Other than that nicely done, I enjoyed it.

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

Love the background!

Paying attention to both sides and keeping the balls in sync while avoiding enemies was a lot of fun. Interesting idea.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16am

The gameplay gets intense.... but kind of twitchy.

Nice game though.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27am

Neat concept! Pretty fun

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:32am

Great implementation of both themes and an original concept. However, it doesn't fit my slightly smaller resolution (1366*768), and a replay button would be nice.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14am

That is mental! It's so hard to keep one in a holding pattern when you need to maneuver the other. It feels like a brain training exercise almost more than a game. Clever use of the theme.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Awesome concept! Trying to coordinate both sides is really challenging and fun.

The background effect with the noise is also very cool when you see it in movement, with fitting colours for the balls and the middle area it might feel pretty trippy.

Well done!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Hard controls but good idea. Its the kind of fame which needs super duper music i think

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Crikey, this feels much the same way learning the drums did. Brain not cut out for this :) Well implemented though. I thought the "try it now" thing at the beginning was a nice touch btw.

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Man that background gets to you after a while, nice application of Perlin noise though. You might have coincidentally found a great way of making people motion sick though lol. Challenging gameplay, it takes some practice to get good at watching both sides and finding a path. Good job!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38am

Really cool idea of having to hold down both movement buttons to get any movement!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

Really fun game and very addictive. Perfect use of theme. Good job!!

sedistra says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Really great game! Surprisingly deep gameplay patterns for a simple concept. Can't wait to see where you'll take it from here!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Pro:
+ Great concept
+ Awesome background noise
+ Gets really intense
Con:
- Some graphical effects in the objects would be great, also some music, but then I'm asking too much on a compo xp
Obs:
o A restart button would be nice

Great entry!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:47pm

This would be fun if my daughter was around to share the keyboard, I'm sure we would die very quickly...!

Interesting concept with the different layouts on each side... Made it much more fun and challenging...

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Great challenging concept to couple both balls. Would be great to have some audio to improve the mood.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:06am

Interesting twist on two-button theme. It certainly takes some brain power to watch both sides and remember to press both buttons to move them.

Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:00pm

At first I thought I was supposed to pick up some of the balls, but apparently all of them were bad. It would have made the gameplay more interesting if some of them had some positive effect. Anyway, the game is challenging as it is, and you could definitely work more on this concept.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:56am

Interesting mechanic to have the dual controls. Nice background.

knason says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I liked how you used the theme! Nice game, hard, but quite fun! good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]