Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Defender

by ImYellowFish - Jam Entry

You are a pilot of a spaceship, who needs to protect earth alone against overwhelming alien attacks. However most of the time you must stay in the earth orbit, moving around earth to block the attacks.

Besides regular attacks, you even face burst waves of enemies, as well as a boss fight. To stand a chance, you must use whatever you can.

HOW TO PLAY:
Simply hold left mouse key and move around, the space ship will follow the cursor.
However, it will be constrained on the earth orbit, and you will need power ups to provide more freedom. You can explore various power ups and find how they work.

Coworker:
Danny Zhu, Li Feng, Zhan Jia and Lu Yu

PS: you may notice you only need one button to play this game. however, there is 'a' keyboard button which immediately calls the boss fight. uh oh I already told you :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#310Audio(Jam)3.39
#312Graphics(Jam)3.80
#411Fun(Jam)3.28
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#565Overall(Jam)3.27
#572Mood(Jam)3.15
#636Humor(Jam)2.43
#955Theme(Jam)2.93

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41am

That's a twisted shoot'em'up, loved the idea of colliding against the objects to destroy the asteroids. I think the ship moves a bit too slow, but thatś a minor complaint. The music made me wish I could crash some kaijus in outer space ;).

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37am

thx for the comment! I liked the music too :D

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Pretty fun game. Music is great, as people said, but explosion effects are really low quality and ear piercing. Also particle effects could use some work.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Cool game!! But very difficult.. I can't beat the boss level, those laser... grrr

That was very fun !!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

To CustomPhase: Thanks for advice :D ! Indeed they aren't very satisfactory. I guess I have to work harder on my graphics in the future.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

To Monetai: Haha indeed! My teammates and I also fail the level quite often. You need a bit of luck to pass the level :D

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29am

Really fun game. Fun to smash your ship into stuff. Great work

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02am

i Love the concept and music is veryyyyy cool. 5/5 in music and sound effects

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49am

Good idea. It's fun and difficult. Nice graphics and music.
Great work.

bigbeautiful says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:07am

长得跟我一样好看……

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:08am

@bigbeautiful 谁家的孩纸丢这儿了 = =|||

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29am

i pushed earth out of the screen... not sure if this is right...

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:51am

@Aerohand well that seems to happen quite often... should have added a mechanism to get the earth back. However, sometimes you can win by pushing the earth out at the right time :D

arzi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:10am

I loved the music!

krashja says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:40pm

I Really like when you get all the energy, its really satisfying i like that!

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Really good game! I have to confess, the Pacific Rim soundtrack made the game a little better for me.
However the idea is good, I especially loved the plot twist at the end. The gameplay is smooth too and the graphics and visual effects are very nice.
Excellent job!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:34am

@krashja I have the same feeling!! :D

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:36am

@Taldius Thanks! The plot twist wasn't in our plan actually. pushing the earth was as an accidental bug :D Then we got inspired and added the boss fight.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Nice take on a classic theme. :)

Quique says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:32am

The game concept is great, but playing the game, the earth disapears from the screen :\

justinooncx says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:50am

Pretty difficult game, but definitely interesting and fun! The Earth-pushing mechanics are a tad hard to use, though.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:54am

Nice look, nothing too novel but pretty fun. I wish the area of the map was bigger though. The sounds are a little much at times also.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]