Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cucumbersome

by jmf - Compo Entry

A game about growing and collecting cucumbers with a two button control scheme. Ever thought Harvest Moon had too many buttons? Then this is the game for you!

Controls:
D to move right
Space to perform action (Either plant, harvest or water depending on context)

Running Instructions (Per-platform):
Windows:
Download and then extract the zip file to a folder (Do not try and run the download without extracting first as it will fail).
Run "cucumbersome.exe" in "build_win32" of the extracted folder.
Note: You may need to install openal prior to playing, it can be downloaded here: https://www.openal.org/downloads/oalinst.zip

Fedora Linux (64-bit) :
Install runtime deps:

sudo dnf install SDL2 openal-soft jansson libpng12 freetype

And then the executable in build/ can be run.

Ubuntu Linux (64-bit) :
Install runtime deps:

sudo apt-get install libjansson4 libsdl2 libopenal1 libpng12 libfreetype6

And then the executable in build/ can be run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

celisoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

To use it on my Ubuntu, I had to install "libjansson4".

Even if the game works now on my computer, the game display is too big on a laptop screen (1366x768) to be playable.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Really pleasant feel! :) Nice job!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Fun little game

mhsco says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice, got in a real cucumber harvesting trance :)

jmf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

celisoft: Thanks for the info. I've updated the dependency list with that. Unfortunately I cannot lower the resolution or some of the text is unreadable. I'll keep that in mind for my next game though.

Thanks for the nice comments. :)

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47am

The Fedora build worked good for me on Arch Linux. Game felt polished within its scope. I liked the ability to upgrade at the end of day :)

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

A relaxing and pleasant game but a little boring.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:00am

nice relaxing game, but it's quite too boring

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:10pm

good work, i went to the end even though I struggled to get 40 - im not sure if there was a penalty to button mashing, but that might be a good idea, i was able to do quite well initially just pressing dd [space] dd [space] dd [space] dd [space]

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

It gets a bit boring too soon unfortunately

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]