Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow

by Dimitri0xFF - Compo Entry

You are a plant and you have to feed as many lice as possible.

Hold G to grow
Press S to spawn lice
Press T to toggle time speed
Scoring: number of lice you have by the end of the timer

Now the Post-Compo version has a Leaderboard!

Tools: Eclipse, libgdx, flixel-gdx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#514Theme3.69
#629Innovation2.90
#787Overall2.85
#814Mood2.31
#838Graphics2.26
#851Fun2.51

Comments

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Why are the lice eating my beautiful plant?!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

Cool idea.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

Great first entry! Nice work on the music, as well. :)

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

Nice game! My top score wasn't very good, I got a top of 23. (Actually, that might be good, just saw your screenshots.) Anyway, cool game. Good idea putting the T in though, as waiting wasn't very interesting :)

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

Pretty interesting concept, and fun. Wish it had audio though. Good game though

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

It was Ok. But I was kind of confused with what all the bars and stuff where for.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

I didn't really know what was going on. Also, why are lice eating a plant?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

Interesting idea and pretty well executed. I think the life bar and regeneration on your UI could be explained better but it was easy enough to understand once I played for a while. Nice job!

Highest score was 26 gonna go for 30+.

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

@graceavery It's my 3rd entry and the game has no music/audio at all.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

This is by far the best plantlice sim I've tried.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I'm not sure I fully understand this game. Is it not most efficient to hold the 'g' button for a little less than 5 minutes then spam the 's' key? interesting, none the less

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Well, try it..

Japes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Interesting idea - was a bit unclear what was going on with the red/green arrows and what affected my health, at first. But after a while I figured it out.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:48pm

do too many lice kill the plant? I had trouble finding the sweet spot.

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Good take on the theme.

The system is interesting. Played it three times and I clearly was getting better. It was a bit bothering that the growing stopped even when you were holding the "G"-Button, didn't get this the first time.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Interesting idea, will need some time to get to a good score.

miwuc says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Interesting idea. A bit hard to understand what's going on but I guess it's part of the game. I got a highscore of 21.

Muel says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice concept.

You use the same life energy to grow and feed the lice.
It's the balance between having some to live with and some to give. Give too much and you die. Give too few and you don't score.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I had to retry a little until I find the better way to grow the highest amount of lice I can get, and then retry again with the post-compo to score in the leaderboard. :P

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:05am

nice score :P

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:43am

This is a cool concept, having to balance your growth rate with the time you have remaining and the cost to add lice, and it's straightforward enough to figure out, but after a few rounds I'm still not sure if the strategy makes itself clear. Is it just a matter of growing as much as you can, figuring out the optimal time to start placing lice, and then placing lice until the game ends, or is there something more to the strategy that I'm missing? An interesting challenge, none the less.

Also, a small thing, I'm not sure why anyone would play without fast-forward, so it would make more sense to me for that to be the default.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]