Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Dungeon Aase

by Jordan - Compo Entry

Mr. Dungeon Aase is a two button controlled game with something new in every level. From snowball shooting snow monsters to hard-to-navigate levels full of lava, traps and even shooting tiles, the game is filled with new content. Made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 34, the game fits with both themes: "Two button controls" and "Growing".

Go beat some dungeons and tame them!


Though I was busy for most of Saturday, I was able to complete 16 levels with new content in each, and a small storyline near the end of the game.


Tools used:

IDE: Eclipse

Graphics: Gimp

Sound: Sfxr

Programming: Java, LibGDX with Box2D and Box2DLights

Operating system: Linux, tested on Windows

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#437Graphics3.18
#582Humor2.13
#600Audio2.32
#625Mood2.77
#864Innovation2.37
#907Fun2.28
#912Overall2.56
#916Theme2.73

Comments

nightlord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

cool gfx. I wish there was a way to stand without moving.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

I was having difficulty trying to figure out the controls. Also, the games main menu seems to be pretty glitchy (the background). I got bored after a few minutes.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

I couldn't leave! I had to alt-f4!

nystical says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Fun but the controls feel a little clunky with the diagonal movement.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

Think lighting effects, though the cursor was a little difficult to see in the dark room.
Felt like the movement was a little slow. But still, a game in 48hrs, nicely done.

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

I couldn't quit the game.

And control is awkward, because the bottom side is a bit limited.

I only used left mouse button so far, haven't reached a part where I need to press a second button.

And that's a very short-ranged fireball.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52am

I'm running this on a mac and the cursor doesn't show up, so I can't run the game

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Couldn't use the menu, and it had glitchy tiles. Looked promising :c

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

Dooskington:
The main menu was like that on purpose. Maybe it wasn't a good idea.

Reisen and Stephen Patrick:
I forgot to include an exit button, oops. The fireball is meant to be short ranged so the game isn't too easy, you must get closer and therefore in more danger to kill enemies. As I'm using the mouse's location for movement control, I included that as a control button.

BoUnDtOtHeEaRtH:

Maybe you aren't seeing the cursor? It's a little less visible that it should be in the menu. The cursor is a red circle.

sharpfrog4:

What went wrong? The cursor is a red circle if you didn't see it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

The diagonal non-stop movement is very hard to work with, though I guess it would be too easy if you could stop. I think 360 degree motion would be an improvement however. Considering the time frame the graphics are very nice and there's a lot of content though!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

I'm not sure how to start it....Is there's supposed to be a mouse cursor? It's capturing my mouse, but I don't see a cursor or anything, and mashing the keyboard got me nowhere...

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Eerongal, the cursor is a red circle. I think I should note that in the post, it seems to be hard to see.

BCasaleiro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

I liked the idea and the visuals but there are some minor things missing.

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

I'm not going to rate your game since I wasn't able to get past the level selection screen. How do you select a number in the beginning?

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

cool glowey things, but controls are a bit clunky with diagonal movement.

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

Baknik, the cursor is a red circle which unfortunately seems to be hard to find. If it's not on the screen, try restarting.

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

I'm sorry I don't understand how the controls are clunky. Is it really a meaningful issue?

IanGraven says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

I downloaded the zip, but I don't know how to run it :(

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

IanGraven, isn't it a jar file that you're downloading? If clicking it doesn't work, try running it through a command line using java -jar <path>

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

It took a few tries to figure out what was happening, but after I got the hang of it things went smooth. Lots of content and nice graphics!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

Cool game! Definitely fits the theme, though I found the controls a bit hard to grasp at first. Very unique gameplay. Great job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34am

this was quite a nice game but I found that the collision box of the player was a little large, which made it difficult to avoid traps :)
otherwise I'm quite impressed with what you have done in the time that you had.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48am

Liked the game. First few tries I died going straight into enemies. Then I managed to kill some :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52am

Controls were difficult (felt a bit too slow). Could not get very far. Cool graphics though. Good attempt for 48 hours.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38am

The graphics look good. I had difficulty shooting most of the time and quickly grew tired of trying to figure it out. Nice job, though!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54am

At first interesting, but quickly bored. Perhaps because of the strange method of movement. And it's not clear where the control of two buttons. Anyway, good luck ^_^

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Nice graphics, but the controls are really weird. I'm already used to top down shooters with tight controls, so it's not fun for me to play a similar game with restrictive controls (like you can't stop, move straight, move in a direction I'm not facing, etc...)...

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I love the graphics!! Well done

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Awesome entry! Like it!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Cheap death on the dark tiles after I beat the level and the key is available.

The character is always on the bottom. Keep him centered.

Do I really need to pick all the coins?

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Amazing graphics but slightly glitchy.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

This is really hard to play!

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52pm

nunesbarbosa:

Did you read the text? You're meant to collect the key at the end of the level. The coins are there because I thought it would be nice, and the traps are there to add a purpose and difficulty to the end, otherwise the key would have no purpose.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Loved the lights in this :) really good graphics as in they all matched etc nothing seemed out of place :)

Well Done!!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:43pm

generally speaking a good idea. But moving plus firing together with this short range is a bit too ... unprecise?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33am

The controls are really difficult, but you managed to implement an impressingly large game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12am

Well done for a 48 hour game!

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:37am

Pretty interesting! I liked shooting zombies. Lots of levels! My mouse sometimes wouldn't shoot but moving it out and back in seemed to fix it - not sure if there was a design element I misunderstood or just a bug.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29am

Controls are really weird, why did you choose diagonal movement? It feels really weird. Also, sometimes I fire when I click and sometimes I don't, I'm not really sure what's happening.

I think I've become deaf after falling in a trap and hearing that sfx.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:41am

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/7EMaRu1rC0U

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]