Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bud the Gardener

by xdigdoug - Compo Entry

This is my first time participating in the Ludum Dare. I'm satisfied with the end result, but I feel I could have achieved more by the deadline.

This is Bud the gardener. This simple game does have an ending, you'll have to find it!

It uses only (2) buttons, being the left and right mouse buttons. You can also use the mouse wheel, because I do not consider it to be a button!

Right Mouse button changes the action, Left Mouse button acts. The cursor changes depending on which action you have selected.
[Move] Lets you move.
[Use] Lets you use the selected item.
[Swap] Changes the selected item (shown in the top-right corner).

The only weather affect that really changes gameplay is rain.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#615Audio2.26
#646Humor1.95
#677Theme3.47
#804Innovation2.53
#832Mood2.22
#857Graphics2.15
#931Fun2.15
#943Overall2.40
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

The interface is very frustrating to use. You should have used a hud.

The game in overall is kind of boring.. maybe it is supposed to be as it is a growing game.

kaynank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Played for a little while and didn't find the ending, but it's kinda fun in a time-passing sort of way. The controls are pretty annoying - you have to click five times to move to the square next to you and plant a seed. Would have been better if you'd left out "move" and had left clicking move move your character to the square you clicked and perform the action on it.

Noticed a few bugs. Sometimes when you place dirt your dirt count goes into the negatives, and sometimes you get a bunch of seeds for no apparent reason.

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

Thank you for your inputs. You'll collect seeds when wet, including raining. You can also move and quickly select use to plant rows of seeds, for those who want to complete it faster.

Jelinib says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28am

I was fumbling with the controls for a few minutes but eventually got the hang of it. I also did something weird with the two button controls, so I can't complain. Just takes some practice and getting-used-to! :P

Anyway, I think I kind of screwed myself over by planting grass on all the tiles I had, and it seems the spade can't dig those up, so I was unable to acquire more dirt to expand, if that's how it works? WHOOPS!

But you've got a lot of cool mechanics going on here, especially for a first LD--and a compo entry, at that! Nice job!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20pm

It's a nice little idea, only navigating the interface really feels cumbersome. What would've helped would be an icon of the currently selected item outside the yard instead of hovering over the gardener.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:04pm

I don't quite get it. What is the goal? Enjoyed the rain :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Not sure what was happening - i managed to get 7 seeds but I didnt see any plants, maybe I was doing it wrong.

srakowski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Hard to use the controls, but I like the idea. I really liked the sound of the guy moving around.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Can't play windows games

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]