Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lifenodes.

by Remicy - Compo Entry

Theme : Growing

This game is for my son.
He was born July this year.
I’m trying hard to be a good mother.

Each thing I give to him might change his life,
Each thing you choose might change your life.

There are total 15 endings, which result from your choices when growing up.
What's your favorite ending?

Mine is #15.

----

tools:Flash, AS3, PhotoShop, otomata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Mood4.24
#58Graphics4.19
#72Overall3.91
#95Theme4.19
#109Innovation3.82
#155Audio3.44
#387Humor2.57
#492Fun3.14

Comments

scars377 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38am

LOVE

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

This is awesome... And nice to look at... And somehow sad...

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

This one got kinda deep, but I really liked it. Would have been nice if there was a list somewhere of the "endings". Could have even named them that way, but overall nice job :)

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

Very well done.

Devark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

Great take on the theme. Simple and well executed.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58am

This has a wonderful mood to it. I love the theme that you went with. I love the art style and the music is a nice touch. I would love to see something like this with some kind of progression of choices.

Either way this is very cool, makes you think and feel. That's more than can be said about a lot of games. :)

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

Love the art!

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

I actually quite liked this. I wasn't entirely sure how the ending was chosen though. Regardless, the art style was cute and it's neat how much of a story can be told with still images. I'm sure this project meant a lot to you :)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

Really great stories, art work, and music. My favorite ending was #8. Good work.

roninfight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:50pm

One of my favourite of this LD batch. Well done to you!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Lovely!

Nice art and very interesting take on the theme, it's cool to see where the different choices lead to.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I loved the idea this, but it just doesn't feel like a game for me. In other words, point and click to get an outcome is not quite my jam, but great concept, good art style and overall a good entry!

Thanks :)

okusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:06pm

So wonderful graphics, musics and warm mood!! I really really love this!! :3

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Wow, its really personal, and at the same time fun, i like it a lot, in fact, i think was the best thing i played here so far

congratulations man, really love it

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Cool idea. Its like how everyone imagines all the different ways their lives could have worked out. Nice play on growth.

avocadojoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

nice

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very sobering experience, great work!

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I didn't finish all the endings, but it was a lot of fun adding and removing variables to change his outcome.

His potential sweetheart is a pixel cutie too!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23pm

The art here is simply terrific. Thanks for making this.

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Very kind game.
Gameplay: complexity out of simplicity.
Like it!
All the best to you and your son!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Holy balls. This is incredible. When I realised how to play (instead of just clicking everything) I totally got ending #15 :)

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

And just got all 15 endings :)

PaulJs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

It's so cute :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

very sweet

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

A wonderful experience! Well done

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Love it - having a baby daughter myself I definitely get the feels playing this and watching them grow up :)

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Woah, this is perfect. I love everything about this. Lovely touching experience, #14 is my favourite ending :)

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Awesome! just Awesome (love the cats!)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice entry. Liked the theme of this a lot. Very cool.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice take on the theme.

I can really relate to ending #6 - it's what this weekend was like for me, staring at a computer with a cat nearby.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Excellent take on the theme! Love all of the references in the background (Breaking Bad, etc.). Simple, but done with power.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

damn... I really don't know what to say on this one... I honestly really enjoyed it, it felt like it hit really close to home for me even though I'm not a mother, but just thinking about my own life in this way [what choices were made that brought me to where I am now] really hit me... this was surprisingly deep...

Congratulations on the son, Good job on the game, I'm going to go cry now haha :)

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

This is very good! I loved the art and the different endings were nice.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Hey there!
I thought the game was super cool. Felt deep and personal.
Art was also great. I would love to see more gameplay features.

Namek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Who would have suspect what #15 is. #8 sounds like a fight :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Nice game, choice based and fresh with the good graphics! Congrats!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

That was very interesting. I love the visuals.

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I would love to see this expanded upon, where you're dealing with more interactions in these different time periods, living a chunk of that life for a certain amount of time and then seeing the outcome. I wanted it to be more interactive, but it was really neat seeing the different outcome and sort of reflecting on that inwardly. Cool concept, the music and visuals helped, along with the theme, to tie the mood together.

I liked the pop culture tie ins.

Overall a really neat idea.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

There's something a heartwarming about watching a child grow up depending on your choices...

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

Very nice! Very relaxing and good to reflect on. Makes you think about what choices you made when growing up.

smoreley says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01am

I really like the idea, and the mood of the game. Just wish there was more variations in the ending.

Kudos to nailing both themes by the way.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

Only way to describe it is as a really quality game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Simple and sweet, great music, and a nice theme interpretation. Well done!

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29am

Very much enjoyed this.
Interesting take on the theme.
overall a very sweet experience.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

Lovely game, I'm sure your son will appreciate it someday.

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Interesting. I had an error loading two combos. But it is not important. Good job.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

The art could be better but I love the idea!

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

Thank you for making this, and thank you for sharing. Best of luck <3

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

This is an interesting concept, I felt like it escalated quickly he grew so fast, I like that there are multiple outcomes. I also like your pixel art style.

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

Sooo cute)

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51am

cool art game

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48am

love it, actually expecting some message/cut scene after got all 15 endings

Sam Twidale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

Great mood and perfect fit for the theme. Quite touching too. Nice job!

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

It's a game that doesn't feel like a game, simply an enticing interactive story.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Amazing, it's clear that a lot emotion has been put into this. The music, choices and art are all amazing. Gameplay is obviously lacking but of course it's not the point of this game.

Wonderful entry, thank you for sharing!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

On of the best games I have played today. Impressive and creative. Makes me think my own life. Thanks.!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

This is different to the other games but i like it nice to find the combinations to get all endings :)

music is nice also weirdly doesnt get to annoying as its repetitive :)

Well Done!!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I think you really captured a great mood here. I hope you show this to your son when he gets older. :)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Deep, poetic and artistic. One of the best LD entries I've ever played.

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Amazing game with beautiful art. Extremely similar to a game idea we did not go with at GGJ this year (the theme was "What do we do now?").
I wish there were fewer endings that were more distinct or at least had a few drastic changes.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Fantastic job on this. Full marks

davekalina says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Really love finding something so personal and thoughtful here.

I feel like I clicked through all the options and only saw 11/15 'endings' - would love to see the idea elaborated on with more possibilities and variety. But the concept is clever and different, and the execution is pretty good.

Gornova says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Good art, annoying music, difficult choices... we are still in front of a monitor, right?

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Woah, this is art, not just a game. :) Simple idea very well executed, implementing the theme nicely.
My favorite ending was when he just sits alone in front a computer screen, because that's the one I can identify with the most. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50am

briliant :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44am

It took me a while to figure out how it was played but once I did I really liked it. A small amount of text explaining the game could be really useful.

ruerob says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:55am

It is so lovely! My favourite is 15, too!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Very thoughtful entry. I was hoping to get ending #15 but I couldn't figure it out. #14 was nice though :)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Nice little game.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Beautiful work of art! It was fun finding out all the possibilities. Great music. My favorite ending was #14

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:43am

This is what the Ludum Dare is all about! Taking a theme and creating something very unique and original. I applaud you on creating a wonderful and thought provoking experience. I was able to get all the endings, and yeah #15 was my favorite too.

Reccy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:37am

Really nice little game, cool pixel art and it feels like you gave it a personal touch.
Just awesome :D

blurryroots says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22am

Interesting experience. Full of love mixed with a bit of melancholy. Felt very real. Great work. Thank you for sharing.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:32pm

This is fantastic! This idea always makes me sad when I see how time moves on in life and the music and graphics really add to that mood. I wish I could see more expanded on this concept, but its a solid entry!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:48pm

A deep and touching game! I really liked it.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:19am

Like the concept that you have done before will affect future!
Gameplay reminds me of time machine, simple but great!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:59am

Like everyone said this is art. I feel like I know you a little bit better now.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:03am

I really liked it.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:03am

I'll never be able to made a game like this : )
Well done!

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Well done! Though some consequences are strange: if you choose books you are alone; if you choose computer games, you're with a wife, child, and cat, even if you had nothing to do with cat, mother, and girls in the previous pictures :-)

VascoF says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:44am

Lovely.

lekochen says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:24am

This warms me.

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:33am

I saw much love in this game~

Krafty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I liked this! It was a neat concept and a good idea for the theme :)

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Beautiful.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Nice entry! I really like the graphics and I find the mood really good! I can't think of it as a game, but it is still an interesting experience! Good job ;)

Solifuge says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Short and sweet. It plays a bit like a puzzle, bit like a visual novel, with a unique central mechanic. This reminds me of some of the games by EYEZMAZE, particularly Chronon; not in the derivative sense, but the time-hopping exploratory puzzle-solving feeling brought it to mind.

It's a good gameplay metaphor, the way your control is limited to simple choices about what things you bring into your life, or what you bring into your child's life. You don't control what they do, and can only guess at what kind of influence it might have in the long run. I like the visual style and music; made it seem pretty bitter-sweet, but that's how life and living feels, sometimes.

I can feel the heart behind this, and can sort of relate; I've got a new nephew on the way, the first child of the next generation in my family. I'm hopeful and excited to see who they are. I'm worried that I'm not ready to be a role model, and will somehow mess up their life. I'm experiencing many other complicated feelings besides. This game is a pretty good time capsule for that sort of feeling.

I'm sure you'll keep doing great with your son, and hope you do well when the Ludum Dare ratings come in too. Thank you for sharing this game.

Muel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Cuteness overload here.

Rys0n says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Love it. One of the most creative games I've seen out of a Jam.

Farelle says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:17am

I agree, the #15 is the nicest ending :) and coincidentially it's like my life right now also :) I also became mom 1 year ago and likewise I'm struggling with trying to be a good mom, so this game is hitting quite a spot for me.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:48am

That's what I call a GREAT game!
This one has the BEST mood I've seen so far. It makes me think about life and choices.
The music is very nice and suits well. And graphics is also very impressive!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:39pm

A few points.

Point one - great game.
Point two - music is a bit repetitive, but still nice. If you are trying to get all 15 endings, then it repeats a lot.
Point three - It would be nice if endings were a bit more different, depending on the life choices, but it's ok. I guess, for a mother with a newborn baby it's amazing how much content you managed to produce in 48 hours.

Verdict - All in all, very very nice game. Keep up the good work.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:52pm

This is such an incredible entry - I love how the game has no words or instructions, and it's a fantastic take on the theme. Wonderful!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I don't understanded how to play at first try, but when I get it, it was a good little life game. :)

Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:14pm

It was nice to see something personal, it was an interesting game. We're expecting our first baby in May next year so this sort of stuff is on my mind a lot. This kind of game is fairly rare in LD so I enjoyed the experience

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:16am

I love this. Great game.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:06pm

#15. So, I used to play with toys as a child, then switched to videogames, then spent days in front of computer. Then... how the f*ck did I manage to find a girlfriend?! I wish that worked in real life!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:09pm

But hey, I'm still 22, probably SOMETHING will happen between 23 and 25 :)

Great game, good luck!

denycetm says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Love the little super meat boy and minecraft creeper in there.
Very simple but very moving surprisingly.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:52pm

interesting idea for a game, well done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]