Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Blocks

by DeanoC - Compo Entry

More toy less of a game, click on the tiles and grow your red blocks, whilst the evil blue blocks get in your way.

Its a slow chilled game, there is no winning just start getting some red blocks grown and then sit back and watch the growth cellular automator do its thing.
If you really want you can even help the evil blue blocks.

Holding left mouse button over a mud tile (brown) or a block (red or blue) inject nutrients, which will help them grew, nutrients will spread over time.

Red buds a new block in surrounding tiles when its grown enough, Blue is a weed, able to grow anywhere it can get the nutrients it needs.

Each block responds to nutrients and how crowded it is, so the way you click and grow can either help or hinder blue.
Right mouse button allows you to move the camera, right and track wheel zoom (but buggy on macbook pro trackpad).

Its a slow game, often just leaving it alone to run for a bit can help unblock areas where blue has taken over.

OS X build up first, Windows and WebGL incoming

Build using Unity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Aw, any chance of a windows version?

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

or a browser version :(

v01pe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Very meditative, would be nice as screensaver :D

DeanoC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11am

Windows version up

DeanoC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:43am

WebGL version has some issues, so will be delayed :(

AndreSilvs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:12am

It seems the windows version is missing the "GrowBlocksWin_data". I can't run it.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

i can't run it, unfortunately... seamed great!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27pm

It looks interesting, but I cannot play - no data file. I wait before to evaluate ++

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Please could you release an executable?

Milo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:05pm

It was fairly interesting to play with once I figured out that one has to click quite a lot before anything happens (or at least, when I started clicking a lot, things started happening. Maybe it's just by chance)

ac7 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:11am

Interesting concept, and nice graphics. Like you said in the description, more of a toy than a game. I got it working with no problems on MacOS.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]