Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Keegan

by davidcmcdonald - Compo Entry

IMPORTANT: GO FULL SCREEN or the CONTROLS wont work!
Help Super Keegan Collect Tokens
It should be noted that Keegan Hates Trees, but loves Tokens.


Use the left and right keys to control Keegan.

I can be found:

Dave's Twitter: https://twitter.com/DavidMcdonald89

Website: http://davidsinternetwebsite.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Humor3.57
#241Audio3.17
#416Mood3.05
#668Graphics2.75
#763Fun2.71
#894Theme2.88
#907Overall2.58
#920Innovation2.00
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:56pm

You can continue to play after your dead though

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:16pm

hahha!... simple, but very nice style.

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29am

The controls seem a bit sticky (I played fullscreen). I can't move to the right while the dude is still sliding left, although he's almost there already.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

Nice game, the music's very cheery. :D

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50am

Vera Nice game, congratulations...

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:55am

you nailed the mood of the game with the music but if you have only 2 button controls nailing those controls is a must! as someone else said they were a bit juddery which in a game with timing involved is an unneeded level of jank difficulty

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:14am

these trees are a bit too fast making it almost impossible to avoid them on purpose. :P
Fun game tho, i love the music and them screenshaaakes!

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Despite being simple, this game was fun to play. The graphics and story made me laugh.
Good job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Pretty nice simple and easy game. i like it.

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:28am

Could not load it unfortunatly

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:03am

Pro:
+ Cool music
+ Simple but fun
Con:
- Control felt a bit stiff

Good job!

danbolt says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:21am

Woo! Super Keegan! If Super Keegan has any merch (T-shirts, mugs, etc) for sale, lemme know.

The game design is simple and sharp, and I like that. Or, the player is able to figure things out pretty quickly, even without the tutorial text. There wasn't much time for me to react to falling logs, which was a little frustrating, but once I learned a bit and learned a bit of a strategy, it didn't seem so bad.

Cool stuff! Thanks for uploading!

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Everything about this is peppy and cheerful in the best way possible. I don't know if it's intentional, but I love that you can still try to play after the "Game Over" text appears. Nothing can stop Super Keegan!

Brightstar says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Nice game. Simple yet challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]