Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kiwi Life

by lordsavage - Compo Entry

Welcome to Kiwi valley, There are many kiwi burrows that remain undiscovered.

Help protect your recently released kiwis, and help them find their friends.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#673Overall3.00
#825Theme3.20
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Aww, so cute ;)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Whaaaa.. the possum is killing my habitat and I have no clue what do do!

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Cute game. An aspect of resource management or time speed up would be good.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

QA whole lot of systems to get working in a game Jam! Was fun building up defenses but as soon as I had everything built I ran out of things to do.

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

@SecularBaron - great idea on the time manipulation (speed up/slow down etc).

@Pete_H - haha yes, Had a lot more planned including a money management system (buying traps/ selling possum furs etc), and a research system for upgrading traps.. simply and unfortunately ran out of time though. I am terribly glad that you enjoyed it though.



Thanks to those who have taken the time to play my entry and more so to those who left a comment.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

nice little game :D

_stice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

nice game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The game is good, but took me some time to learn how to play. You have nice graphics.

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:03am

nice idea~
Perhaps you can use keys or a small map to increase the view speed of field~

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:47pm

original and cute, it was a good one

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:59pm

i think you were trying to make a game like kingdoms? good effort

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:44am

Cute, but not much to do except scroll back and forth checking the traps. The walls don't seem to work as advertised.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]