Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Limited Stunts

by Vladik_Plays - Compo Entry

Use only Up and right to control.

Source code. Just add playmaker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Graphics3.41
#365Audio2.88
#781Theme3.29
#850Innovation2.41
#877Fun2.41
#884Overall2.65
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:00pm

I just get a blank (white) screen.. T.T
But the screenshots look nice, even if I could not play..

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Game worked for me. I'm sorry to say this but the game isn't very playable with these controls. It feels like the two button controls were only implemented to fit the theme rather then the game being build around the theme. What makes driving difficult is that after steering to the right you still keep turning to the right for some time. Because of this it's almost impossible to drive to the place you want, and that's kinda bad in a driving game. Graphics and audio are pretty alright though. :)

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56pm

I like the concept, but the controls kind of ruin it for me :/ If you got rid of the up and right only thing, despite not adhering to either theme, it would be better. Graphics and audio are nice, though!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Finally someone made game fit in a Ludum Dare window! :D
Nice game but finally I was stuck at one of the pramplins

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Is it just me or there is a hidden cat in this game?
Meow.

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Haha, it just begin with no title, teaching or anything else. But it is good, good graphic and sound, is it just pressing "w" and "D" to play?

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:01am

I agree with what others have said, it felt kind of arbitrary that you could only go forward and turn. I ended up getting stuck by a ramp because I couldn't back up.

The aesthetics were nice, the colors fit nicely with the models. I especially liked the star particles coming from the car!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:09am

Cute! I like the art style ("CAR", the spotted road, the stars when you manage a trick...) and the sound effects. Kinda tricky to get anywhere with only forward and right, but I guess that's part of the challenge. Nice.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Man I wish you had gone with the other theme! :-) Impressive tech demo though...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]