Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Complete Control

by Mikhail - Jam Entry

Made mostly from scratch in java! Except my custom game library/engine.

Windows has been tested and should work.
OS/X and Linux have not been tested but should work fine (Leave a comment and maybe I can fix it)
*** NOTE ***
Make sure you extract the game and file from the zip file! If you do not, there is no guarantee that the game will work properly!

Music: Destroyed by Russ Makiwicz
https://machinimasound.com/music/destroyed/

Gameplay:
You are the dark blue square and the other countries are denoted by different colors
Right click
- anywhere on the screen and you can choose buy and empire info
- on a country that isn't your own you can choose country info or declare war
Left click anywhere on the screen to hide the popup menu
Buy mines to increase your income
Buy barracks to increase your power
Your power, money, income, and # of tiles you have will all be taken account for when deciding if you win the war.

Goal:
Conquer all of the countries
-The game is pretty easy I know
The countries will, over time, take over other countries which will make it harder to conquer them.

*** Bug Fixes***
When store/empire info/country info windows are up the screen doesn't update

Helpful feedback is appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#697Audio(Jam)2.19
#712Theme(Jam)3.45
#757Innovation(Jam)2.76
#783Fun(Jam)2.82
#852Humor(Jam)1.52
#888Mood(Jam)2.59
#993Overall(Jam)2.70
#1019Graphics(Jam)1.73

Comments

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Hey, I like simulation games ! The balance between revenue and power, in order to extend territories is always something interesting in these games, and you had them all :)
Iterate some more and this might become something very addictive :D

I liked the simple colorful graphics too heh.
In my opinion, what you need to improve for next jam is your feedbacks, get a more immersive tool than a droplist, polish the HUD, and probably work on the performance, and you'll ship the next TotalEmpire ;)

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44am

Nice work, could do with some proper ui though

Starspell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46am

I think it's very daring to try a simulation / strategic game in a game jam. I like the idea of what you had here. The graphics and the audio could be better, I didn't have much idea of what was going on from just looking at the game. I also wasn't able to conquer any other countries, even when I had double their power and income. Maybe I missed something there.

Overall a brave concept needing some polish.

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57am

I'm assuming you're not coming from a game development background because the UI/UX is far from ideal.

Currently the game is:

1- spend 1 minute buying/waiting for resources
2- declare war on smallest empire, repeat.

Maybe that could be solved with an AI that reacts faster than the current, I'm not sure.

aeveis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:01am

Nice job! At first I thought I could only conquer countries next to me, but then I realized I could click anyway. At first I thought I was buying from other countries, but then realized it was like a general buy thing. After I was able to get more resources than another country it was pretty straightforward to win.

I did run into a bug, if I clicked out of the drop down menu, sometimes it would leave a grey box and then the whole screen would stop updating (except the menus). And then attempted to move window which made the whole screen grey. I'm on a windows 8 x64 laptop.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:01am

Fun, a little easy as you said, but still fun. More options, harder enemies, and a little polish could make this great.

squirrelbot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:50am

The game is difficult to begin with, but easy at the end. Maybe I'm just impatient, but it takes too long to gather the resources to win your first war. But at the end, it's just a declare war spam-fest. Maybe reduce the bonus for winning a war?

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:01am

Had a bit of issues just trying to get it ran (java issues) was able to work it out. a bit of fun but could use a graphics overhaul

acotis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:16am

Frustrating control, game stats in top right won't fit on the screen, music plays choppy the whole time. Also, my country seems to lose every war, no matter how much power I have? I set myself up on a buy-mines-to-buy-more-mines cycle until I had 67 power over another country's 19, but still lost.

Perhaps there should be limited resources, or other countries should be able to declare war on you?

Mikhail says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:11am

acotis winning a war isn't all about having power over your enemy

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:14pm

unable to run OS/X

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:27pm

This was very nice strat game, reminded me of some other old game I used to play a lot. (cant remember name anymore)
The music also added good atmosphere to the game!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:28am

I think the music was good for this game. It probably would have been more interesting with slightly better graphics, but I'm not really sure what would look good here ;)

Really, the problem I had was that the game was too large for my screen (1366 * 768) and this made it hard to click on the pink empire to conquer them.

Budi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Interesting concept, I really like there are many strategy games this Ludum Dare.

Unfortunately, for really great strategy it needs better graphics (actually it needs some graphics...), better controls (for sure! these controls are so unpractical), balanced gameplay (now the gameplay is: spam mines, spam barracks, win everything) and better UI.

But there is one aspect, which I liked a lot - the music! I really liked that dystopic mood of the music - I really felt like great emperor ruining the whole world in the huge war. But sometimes it's maybe too much dystopic and scary. :-D

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Cool game! Always love strategy entries!

Would be more difficult if the enemy built more and attacked more often!

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice. I enjoyed it

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:40am

Dunno if I'm doing something wrong, but I cannot win a war. Literally declaring war on 2-tiled enemies that I have greater power and income than and still losing every time. I do like the notion of the game though, and the music was nice.

mockthebear says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:52pm

The conecpt sounds preety awesome! But to be 10/10 there are missing some feedback about what is happening on the screen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]