Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ROUND THINGS X SHARP THINGS

by plauk - Jam Entry

Round things make you grow bigger.
Sharp things makes you grow smaller.
Black things are insta-kill.

N: New Game
Esc: Exit
Arrow Keys: Move

Controllers should also work.

Made in about 10 hours.

Code: Paul McClintock
Design: Rebecca Shepherd
Support: Daniel McClintock

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#462Mood(Jam)3.28
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50
#640Audio(Jam)2.60
#659Theme(Jam)3.53
#692Fun(Jam)2.94
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#780Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

Ditto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Game loads, then it's just white! :c

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55pm

nice idea.
A bg music could be nice.
And maybe you could include the 'N' thing in the splash screen.

Congratz

plauk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:18pm

@Ditto Is that in the browser version or the d/l?

I've only tested in Chrome... and it's the first time I've used Unity's WebGL exporter. I won't be able to fix anything until I get home from work. Dang.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32am

Your colours are so good!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09am

Took me a bit at first to figure out what to do but that was my own fault for not reading the entire description heh.

Had fun though! Art is very nice and clean, idea is very cool.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10am

Super simplistic yet great aesthetic. I really liked playing it :)

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17am

Good game! It takes a super long time to load on WebGL, though.

It's really fun when you get good and can sort of 'combo' yourself off different objects.

Really pretty, minimalist graphics! I like em.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19am

Nice presentation and I like the art style. Though I agree with seththefirst, BGM would indeed be good.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19am

Seems a bit too hard not to just get pushed up against the back wall. Pretty good idea though and I love the art style.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25am

great concept. And very relaxing game !

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58am

Cool looking game

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33am

Fun little game! I like the minimalistic style. It would be cool if there was background music.

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34am

Really neat concept! The ultra-minimalist art and sounds really work well together to create an enjoyable, relaxing experience. I agree with everyone else that the colour palette is delicious!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

Interesting concept :)

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41am

Nice game ! It lacks of a bg music but the concept is pretty fun. May be the movements should be a little more faster ?

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:48am

NICE X GAME!
You could do much better in 72 hours instead of just 10!

plauk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Thanks for your comments everyone. The suggestions are all appreciated. I'll probably do some work on a post-jam version soon.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:29am

It reminded me of those game objects that were made with water and plastic back in the 80's. Good job guys

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice entry for only 10 hours of work, the game is polished. I wish hitting object of different color than yours could have an effect on you other than just changing your color (maybe more boucing). Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]