Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Elf

by Farfin - Compo Entry

press up to go up
press down to go down

there is no real ending sorry ;(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#67Innovation3.95
#76Fun3.83
#77Graphics4.12
#77Overall3.89
#175Mood3.47
#215Audio3.24
#231Theme4.01
#382Humor2.58

Comments

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:34am

Such a cool idea! Had a nice time playing it

BCasaleiro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:35am

Really cool idea!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04am

Looks great and its a really nice idea!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Art is crisp and polished, and the mechanics are pretty interesting~

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

Wow!! I love the art... Nice work on the mechanics too!!

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Great graphics. Good sound. I love that there are two paths. Would love to see more.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

Well done! I am terrible at dodging arrows though :( Beautiful art, innovative take on the two buttons!

PanDoes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Really great, more difficult than I anticipated

SagyDemn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Great Job broh

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

Very nice, shame it got cut short.

lokiyuki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

pretty well done! also a good level design

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

what's with the jew stars

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

This was a really great game to get on my first random pick. Nice work

Dialglex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

I found the 'u win' screen and I was happy.

Luxorix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:34am

Very good!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

Very nice game and art, shame about the coarseness of the sound effects though.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

Fun one to play. Short, but would enjoy playing more of it. Turns the limited controls into a strategic element rather than simply a limitation.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

great color tone, cool concept!

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

Well done!

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

Interesting controls. Fun and quick

Zifiv says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57am

Just AMAZING ! Seriously just finish it :) !

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43am

Makes good use of the two button controls. It's very easy to die, but the checkpoints help not making it too annoying. The transition from screen to screen is a bit slow at times so it's hard to judge what the best action is when enemies are approaching, before you start walking back again. But overall, I really liked the style and innovation.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24am

Art and audio are super well done! :) Good fitting in with one of the themes too. I like the idea, but it can be a little frustrating waiting to shift left to right or vice versa. I think the design, however, is super spot on.

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

This is freaking awesome. I am throwing money at the screen but there is nothing happening. Great level design, solid controls, very satisfying space freakin' ninja elf! When I figured out I could knock over the turrets I was hooked! Can we have more levels please!

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Timing is everything. :)

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Fun. A little too short. I would like to see more =D

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I love that art style. You did well with how it plays using only the up and down arrows. The way it looks/feels/plays is super nice, the sound effects and subtle particle effects are really good - nice job!

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Please say you're going to make a post-compo version with more rooms... ;-;

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

maybe I'm just bad, but that was pretty challenging, very fun however!

great take on the theme, I loved the mechanic!

the art is wonderful as well, very 'cohesive' looking.

Overall, there's not much to say, I loved it. Simple to understand gameplay that provides surprising difficulty and thoughtful level design, nice work, very well done!

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Very unique, fun idea. Good job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Neat concept! When pressing up or down, it was kinda hard to judge in which direction the character will go. I would press down hoping the character will go left but instead it went right. A clear indication of this will definitely remove that guess work and will make the game more strategic.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really nice game, had a lot of fun playing it!
I even made it to the end, 't was though but do-able.
The checkpoints are a good idea ;)

gmisail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Takes some time to get a hang of, but overall a quality game.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Wow this is a very nice game. Nice game art... nice dead animations :) Good job

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Very nice game !!

CottonKitty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Well done idea. I wonder if you would broad it on steam.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Really well done game! Everything fit together well, and the animation was very smooth! Great game! Very hard!

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Woah, the graphics are awesome, and it plays really nicely and looks polished.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Like how snappy the game feels, also its very difficult :)

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Stylish game and good idea. Graphics and sfx are spot on, but maybe add some background music?

Also, some ingame instructions would be useful, for instance I didn't know that you could knock turrets over until I stumbled upon one by accident and saw it fall over xD

Great entry, good luck ^^

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Oh, I like you art, remind me some little green haired guys :D. However, the gameplay is cool too, a pleasant mix between action and puzzle :)

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

This is such an interesting use of the theme. Really enjoyed it! Loved how the enemies can shoot each other and the puzzles/levels were fun to work through :)

Kimau says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

U WIN! Awesome game

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Stylish espionage with two button controls! Great job!

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Awesome job!

Pretty hard - I would like restart to be faster.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:18am

very cool and inventive, engaging and fun to play, and on top of that, the visuals are great, very like old school nintendo, well done :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:04am

Art is top notch! sounds are a little loud. Overall its a really neat game :)

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:51am

Nails the theme. I found it very hard though—couldn't get past the first couple of screens.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Really like it! I love the color palette and the mechanics. It's fun!

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I like the concept a lot, this is a very good use of the theme. The controls are a bit unforgiving though, if you don't hit the up or down button at exactly the right time, the elf doesn't take the entrance and runs directly into the next arrow.

The graphics are just beautiful!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Pssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KW3u_aFLXVA

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:56pm

I really liked how much details are in the sprite, like the dead guard with an arrow in the back or the transparency of the main character shape.
Good job also for gameplay.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Very well polished game! Interesting mechanics that I think works nice!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Clever take of the theme ! Fun and challenging to play, well done !

Tapehead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:22pm

really great idea! an very clever usage of the theme! very well done!

euske says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:41am

It was a bit short but fun!

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Wow, your controls are one of the best! Plus cute graphics! U WIN ;-)

FireTwin says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:57pm

It's a little bit short, but very well polished! Kinda ingenious mechanic you've come up with. Would love to see this as a full game with a thematic and story put into it.

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Difficult but fun! Liked you graphics and the gameplay a lot! Could've used some music but all in all a solid entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]