Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grown with the Flow

by Skywilly - Jam Entry

Hello ! I'm William (Skywilly), the editor in chief of french website "Game Side Story" and like always, i have no skill to make a game but i try, because it's very fun ! This time, Kathleen (Leenuyth) helped me with some graphics.

For this Ludum Dare, i tried to make a simple gameplay... You have to collect pollen with the left click. But it's pretty hard sometimes.

The goal is to let appear flowers by the end of the music. More pollen you collect, more flowers will appear. There is six flowers, six different colours, in total.

Good luck ! And enjoy the beautiful music of David Rampillon.

Music : "Petite Douceur" from "23.14" by David Rampillon

http://www.davidrampillon.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#105Audio(Jam)3.84
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#899Theme(Jam)3.09
#929Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1016Overall(Jam)2.65
#1076Fun(Jam)2.00

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57am

Nice mood... but yeah, found it quite difficult to click the pollen.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40am

The athmosphere is great. Liked the graphics and the sound. But as already mentioned its a bit hard to get the pollen.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50am

It's hard to collect the pollen. Small hitboxes I guess... Despite this it only took me a couple of seconds to figure out that you can kind of spam left mouse and hit them. I got to the night level, but I think I paid the price of my wrist! I really liked both the music and the game's idea, but because of the hitboxes it was hard to play.

Pikace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

The non hardcore is still hardcore :D
Allergic people clicking on ninja pollen. Done.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

I like the movement of the polen particles (it works wonderfully with the music to create a melancholic vibe), but boy it's hard to click on them! :S

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Interesting.. but yeah sometimes it's impossible to collect the pollen, while at other times it's super simple.

Darkhaul says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Hitbox on the pollen is too small for it to feel good... music only seemed to work on the kongregate version (could be just me though) but was really nice! And it was quite pretty in all... just the small hitboxes make it kinda awkward to play.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Darkhaul -> Oh, for the music, it's a real problem if it's not just for you. I hope it's ok for other players.

Sorry for the hitbox :\

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30pm

The collision detection was very off, but the flowers looked okay :)

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

dude....its sooo soothing....
the music, gameplay and visual style fit very very well!
this is an example of maximum effort

i didn't have anything to complain about except, its really hard to gather those pollen D:

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Nice mood, but it's incredibly hard to click those pollen...

Frank_Hiroma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:01pm

It's a really comfy game to play. The pollen is hard to click but maybe that's the point. Good job!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09pm

A great mood caused by a combination of the music and the way the pollen flowed.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice music!

nosfer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

Nice music, hard to catch anything :) I also made a game about flowers :)

xaedes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51am

The music adds a lot to this games experience. The game is very simple, but, like others said, it is surprisingly hard to click the pollen. I think the theme "Growing" is very obvious with this one. Had a nice few minutes, mostly enjoying the music^^ We absolutely need something similar for our game :P

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54pm

This game sets a great mood.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Mood is amazing! Click area from the flower pollen are to small. Great little game!!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Very pretty game, excellent mood. Pollen need a bigger collision map though, felt I should of hit pollen but didn't.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:50am

Particularly good job on the mood of the game! Unfortunately the gameplay it self doesn't live up to the mood, as the other posters mentioned it is far to hard to click pollen. Also it might be small but I found the flashing "start" to be rather annoying and tacky.

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:28am

The mood is nicely created and the graphics are very relaxing. Like the other posters I had a difficult time clicking the pollen and it didn't quite feel rewarding enough. The second scene was confusing.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:08am

Awesome art and music. Not sure if I was doing something wrong, as only a small percentage of clicks collected the pollen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]