Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Double Helix

by BroCade - Jam Entry

Growing? Two button controls? Guess we will just have to do incorporate both themes into one game. Presenting Double Helix, a game about growing/replicating DNA using only two buttons. Can you successfully overcome all the DNA challenges or will you accidentally create a hideous freak of nature?

When chromosome nodes line up hit the appropriate symbol.
The whole game is played with only Z & X.

The latest webGL build is up, if you had issues running the game in the past they *should* be resolved, otherwise there are stand alone builds available to download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#90Overall(Jam)3.89
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#110Graphics(Jam)4.24
#137Fun(Jam)3.69
#150Mood(Jam)3.75
#496Humor(Jam)2.67

Comments

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08am

Have the error during loading the game: "The browser could not allocate enough memory for the WebGL content. If you are the developer of this content, try allocating less memory to your WebGL build in the WebGL player settings."
I have 4 GB of RAM, by the way...

BroCade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49am

Thanks Rfdshir, your not the only person with that problem. Its an error with out settings somewhere. Will fix it as soon as possible. Thanks for the heads up.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:49pm

can't run the game:/

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Game doesn't run in Chrome or Opera, but runs in Firefox and oh my, it's beautiful! Could use more feedback on "eating" a genome. Screenshake? Lights? More particles? Great experience!

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I love it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Really interesting concept. Love the graphics - makes me feel like I'm some clandestine scientist. Good job!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

waw! awesome! very fun, complex, with great progression. Congrats.

ps: I like the crt shader (mine is not as evolved)

BroCade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone, we realy appreciate it. rzuf we are updating the build with more feedback tonight, hope you come back and check it out. :)

vhaugan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Looks and sounds great, really fun to play.

lefane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42pm

This is really fun and looks great. Doesn't work on Chrome, but on Firefox it's beautiful.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Very addicting and the music is really awesome! Wish the levels auto-advanced as you completed them, was a little confused as to how to change levels at first. This would break the two button part of the theme, but I was hoping the further levels would have more genome colors. I also get a memory warning from time to time, but usually runs fine.

Humbleness says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45pm

This game is really good looking, if I win a round the first time, I have to go back and lose again just so I can see the death icon :D

I can tell you put in a lot of work, great job :)

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

awesome game! realy realy difficult but also very fun! the sound and graphics are amazing, good work!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Tried three browsers and cannot get this to run :( shame as it looks interesting. Gimme a shout if you manage to figure it out!

BroCade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Web build has been updated with some fixes and improvements. We are busy uploading Mac and Windows builds.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Excellent graphics. I found it somewhat difficult to see which track the checkpoints were on but maybe that's the point.

Suui says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Great idea, great game, love it!

I find it a little buggy or shaky from the 3rd level, but it's just great and fun to play! Visuals also excellent and nice sound.

Angelosz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Oh my god, I love this game! There are some bugs that makes me a bit nervous, but for the rest: Well done.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Very cool graphycs ,but i didnt get how to play(

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

super polished graphics and overall feel.

tough but fun gameplay, with very nice audio.

overall, this is a really solid entry, I loved feeling a bit like a mad scientist creating horrible mutations haha, nice job!

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Damn good game! Got occasionally a bug where the game wouldn't spawn these button press entities, but I didn't mind that to much.

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Truly amazing and well done game!

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Good art work, the visual effects are exelent!

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:25pm

para smartphones seria bastante interessante

fistmaker says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Neat concept. Good use of the theme.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Interesting game. It was very hard, but also pretty fun!

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Cool game but has a few bugs.
Running full screen the graphics didn't line up making it really hard, and sometimes I got the missed effect directly after a hit for no apparent reason. Also it seems like a rhythm game but the music didn't seem to correspond with anything. Cool music though.
I would have also be better if it saved your progress. I kept accidentally restarting the first level.
Some levels also have the first way too soon, before you have a chance to judge the speed.

denycetm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Looks amazing. Good challenge. maybe a little more leniency in the presses. grade them as weak - strong bonds.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Loved the look and the music, but I just couldn't work out how to play. I tried to find instructions but there don't seem to be any.

It seem like you are meant to hit x when the your orb (the one with an x on it) moves through another blue orb? And the same with y for the green orbs? Except, it seems like they rarely go right through each other - lots of them just float past without ever touching either orb, causing an unavoidable miss.

Other time the blue orb would pass through a green orb leaving me confused as to what to press. I never managed to succeed on the first level, though I did try them all anyway.

Overall, art and music are great. Shame I couldn't work out what to do!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Great entry! Gameplay and graphics are awesome :)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Awesome game.

I can only say that quite often I got false negatives because I was introducing the right sequence.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:41am

Nice concept, interesting but frustrating. Good mood from the combination of good, consistent visuals and music. Well done.

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:48am

This is really a great game. Very simple system, yet big fun. Visually very pleasing too.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:42pm

The game is really complicated but the feel is very good. Good graphics, original gameplay... nice job!

Molpe says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Awesome music! Great idea! I love it!

I've made a short let's play video if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfEVSiI9fFk

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:49am

Really surprised you disallowed audio ratings. The different tracks of music was great! The concept, graphics, and execution were all great too. Well done!

A couple of things though. Starting back on the menu with the last level attempted selected, or having a restart button would be nice. Also, the "miss" screen seemed to appear even though I successfully got the nucleotide.

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Really great game! Nice way to implement the themes, epic music and a nice difficulty curve (I really felt like achieving something after finishing the first level). Too bad I could not find out how to go to level 2...

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Pro:
+ Great graphics and music giving a nice mood
+ Very cool concept and mechanics
Con:
- Sometimes it gets really hard with the random positioning, sometimes I also receive damage upon start, I guess there is a node right at the beginning
Obs:
o Got stuck in level 5

Awesome work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Had a couple of bugs happen, sometimes it was say "miss" even though there was nothing there and I wasn't pressing any buttons. Weird. Also after beating stage 1, the next stage weirdly didn't unlock first time.

Other than that, fantastic graphics and simple but effective gameplay. I really like the atmosphere with the music and setting.

Great stuff! :)

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:54pm

I really like this, the graphics are neat, the idea is amazing and it fits well with the theme. I still kind of feel like a tutorial would've helped me figure out how to start out. Overall, very good game!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:08pm

GREAT ENTRY!!!!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:16pm

This requires some focus. Once I get into the "zone", I can manage, but it sure is a brain-bender. I've seen a few similar games in this LD, but this one looks and plays very well (as to be expected by a jam entry).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Really interesting concept. Love the graphics and the way you use some post FX. Thumbs up ++

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:55pm

I have nothing particularly polished, everything feels great and polished. Overall excellent job !

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Really awesome innovation! Great concept! Awesome game! c:

yuigoto says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:48am

Whoa, great idea! The graphics are beautiful and the game is quite challenging!

Made me imagine what would be if we had the whole four bases of DNA pairing! :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]