Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Honourable East India Company

by MattThePie - Compo Entry

My 2nd Ludum Dare game, and first Compo submission! Thanks for having a go. Explore and colonise the Spice Islands of the Far East and amass a fleet of warships big enough to contest the rule of the mighty Dutch Armada.

It's an RTS with admittedly very clunky quickly made controls, but hopefully I've found some sort of balance between trivally easy and obnoxious! It'll take a fair bit of time to build up enough forces to defeat the enemy Flagship.

If it isn't clear, select either a ship or building then right click nearby land to bring up the options of what can be built there. Ships need to make a town hall on each island you want to build on, then town halls can make shipyards and plantations (next to trees or plantations!). Click on a shipyard to build ships.

The buildings look awful and should be redrawn but I've finished all the Red Bull in the fridge and I need to lie down forever now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I didn't really know what to do. Really clunky controls. Cool idea, though.

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Wow! RTS made in a weekend, that's something!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Nice idea for a game, but unfortunately it's quite confusing! The death sound-effect made me jump when it suddenly sounded as well! Good job though.

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Seems very slow to play and there isn't very much of an indication of what you will be able to build, but nice game.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice submission :) took me a while to figure out the controls, and how to make money because there is an island on the initial screen with NO trees/plantations, so I would just spend all my money on town hall and get stuck :(

But overall, its a nice game. The progression was fun. But the controls were weird, and seems not responsive. Anyways, good job, had fun :)

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I think you need a little more detail in your game instructions, I had this trouble last year.I thought I had explained how to play really well and my comment section was alot of people saying my game needed a better tutorial. Best advice is get somebody else to read it through and explain back to you how the game works, don't correct them if they get anything wrong, add the correction to the tutorial

Lancey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Pathfinding needs some work, and the game grinds on a bit, but really good overall!

deadpixl says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Cool idea but it was hard to know what to do. Also some music and other sound effects would be cool.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

As a Dutchie, I doth protest to the theme of this game! ;)
Looks like an interesting start to a strategy game, but it lacks a good 'hook' to get the player invested.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:54pm

The effort is visible and the concept is pretty nice, but it was very confusing to play, mainly because there is not a huge amount of feedback from the UI. I think it would play better if you put some example images in the 'rules' section.
Otherwise, a nice entry overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]