Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jack

by headchant - Compo Entry

There is no goal. Just Jack and Chill.

move=wasd


Edit: Bug fixed an issue with certain OpenGL implementations...updated all three files

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#57Audio3.85
#59Mood3.86
#142Graphics3.86
#544Humor2.24
#591Overall3.11
#617Theme3.56
#689Innovation2.78
#891Fun2.37

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Jack never gave me "the look" :(

Waynetron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

What do the little present boxes do? And is there a way to get more seeds?

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38pm

nice graphics! Not really clear on what the boxes did, if anything.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very peaceful game. Love the mood !

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The graphics are really adorable, though I'm not quite sure what I'm supposed to be doing...

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Since "Jack and Chill" was the intended mood, I have to give you 5/5 stars for mood. The music, lazily drifting clouds, and slowly growing trees all combine to give a very zen feel.

I never quite figured out how to get more seeds, or what to do with the colored target boxes that spawn. (I think they might have disappeared once I brought two matching ones together?)

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Cute, relaxing game. My only complaint is the boxes fading, took me a while to figure out i had to put them together and too often i just didn't have enough time to do it.

headchant says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

@NightShadow0: fair enough, made the time longer in the post-compo version

Benjamin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

I didn't jkow what to do with the presents. I tried to bring them together but was unable to gather enough before they vanish.

zlaine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Couldn't figure out what the boxes were for, but I like the laid back atmosphere.

shiny says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Great game, was very relaxing.

Tackwin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10pm

The atmosphere is really great

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Wasn't able to figure out what the boxes do however, the atmosphere of the game was very relaxing, music went went and same with the sound effects. I thought the character design was really cute too.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:24am

I came, I saw, I chilled. Nice.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]