Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Soaked

by Aumni - Jam Entry

Super Soaked! Challenge your friends or the AIs in a fast paced 2D shooter where you try to defeat your opponents and stay alive!

Theme chosen: 2 Button Controls

Controls (Preferable with joystick):
Aim: Mouse + Shoot: Spacebar
or
Aim: Joystick + Shoot: A

Can be played against AI or local multiplayer.

Inspiration
We were looking for building a simple fast pace game in 2D using Unity. It turned out to be a pretty fun game which we are proud of!

We build the game over the weekend only since we all have our jobs on Monday. This time we have a huge team (see bellow),

Challenges
Having a big team got us a bit ambitious, we were aiming for a full multiplayer game with networking and AIs. We had a programmer that spent all his time trying the unity networking system and have it working. At first, it was pretty fast to have a sample of the game running in network. As the game design was evolving, the default NetworkManager system was not working anymore and we had to change it; we wanted to support multiple local player while doing an online multiplayer game. All our game got broken by the networking system and it slowed down the development of all the team. We spent many ours in a broken state. Eventually we reverted the networking and have the programmer work alone in its branch and only submit when it's all ready. But Sunday night (when we ended our jam), he had it working, but we hadn't time to integrate new UI, flow and test it accordingly. Sadly we dropped the feature.

We had a big team, some of them part time, some of them full time. It allowed us to have full night sleep and ship a game :)

Programmers:
Pierre-Luc Loyer
Frank Brizuela
Julien Deschamps
Marc-Andre Loyer
Gaetan Barrel

Art
Charles-E Gouin

FX
Laurent Gignac

Sound
Mark Latimer

Game Design
Anais Renevey & Steve

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Fun(Jam)3.61
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#278Humor(Jam)3.11
#301Innovation(Jam)3.43
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#577Mood(Jam)3.14
#619Graphics(Jam)3.25
#920Theme(Jam)3.04
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:46am

Great graphic and funny game!

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47am

Well done on this entry. Its one of the few games I've played so far that kinda feels completed.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:15am

I liked that you guys tackled the issue of how to move around without using more than two buttons. It worked out nicely. It took me a while to get used to the movement but I had a lot of fun with it.

Loved the music!

adaFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:32am

Great concept. A little hard to control; getting back up onto the platform to restart felt like a little much after the first time, but it is a clever way of making sure players have the controls down before they start playing.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:05am

I'm one of those guys who thinks mouse axis is cheating in terms of being a button or not.. But yeah, it looks very well done. Maybe a little hard to control. The AI is too easy to beat IMO. Nice amount of polish to this game though!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I would love to try this on local multiplayer

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Pretty cool game! it's sad that it only has one level, but it was still really fun!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:50pm

The sound effects were really satisfying in this game, good job with that!

I played this single player, which maybe meant a lost of bit of the potential fun. Still, it's a clever concept, I like it.

Maybe a change I would've made is to make the 'bullets' more readable? Perhaps if each player shot their own colour bullet it might work better, because in the watery environments they didn't stand out much. It still worked, just not as well.

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Nice idea, I hope you didn't offend the cats when recording the audio!

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:53am

Great and funny idea, really like the sounds. God job guys.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:37am

Cool stuff! Looks and feels nice :)

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:03am

Great game, great graphics I love it

AlexaCol says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Really awesome!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:37am

Awesome innovation, a really fun concept and game! Love it! Congrats! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]