Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Watch out for the green stuff!

by wehard - Jam Entry

You must escape the eutrophification!

Watch out for obstacles, they will slow you down. Enemies will kill you.

Eat the sardines for energy.

Try to survive as long as you can!

Up/Down arrows for movement. Esc stops game. When game is over press up/down to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#602Audio(Jam)2.74
#668Graphics(Jam)3.15
#688Humor(Jam)2.32
#809Fun(Jam)2.77
#856Theme(Jam)3.19
#948Overall(Jam)2.77
#1025Innovation(Jam)2.04

Comments

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nice game but too bad there isn't a way to restart it when you die :/

wehard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Hi Melusine! Just press up or down arrow key to restart!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:13pm

A nicely implemented endless swimmer. The hand drawn style graphics are cute.

I think you can avoid all the danger by swimming to the top of the screen and staying up there. A high flying fish is a safe fish. :)

Anyway, pleasant stuff!

dodormeur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice endless runner, too bad for the sky bug.
Maybe a bit more variety in the ennemies and bonuses would be nice :)

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

The controls are pretty nice and responsive; although I wish there was more visual feedback or sound effect that plays once you hit something that slows you down.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44pm

GG some minor bugs like the sky fishing and hitting up/down to restart I missed seeing my score before it restarted because I was all ready hitting the next move when I died

felilix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:56am

Cute graphics! The school of fish looks amazing!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:23am

Cute handdrawn characters and objects and I like the green menace chasing you forward a la the fire in Braid, etc. Every other booster fish did not seem to do things and good you need to use obstacles to not get too far ahead of the screen. Nice.

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I enjoyed the aesthetics. Good work.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

Looks neat, I like the soundtrack.

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:51am

Cute fish! The game is fun to play and challenging. Just a few sound effects are missing.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

nice cute work)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:22am

well done, especially making it web. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

Pretty simple but fun entry plus I really like the hand drawn art.

Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Can't play, infinite loading :'(
I tried on Mozilla and Chrome on http://laszlo.space/ and ludum's web

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]