Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slimevasion

by mar3k - Compo Entry

Slimevasion is 2D rogue like top-down shooter controlled only with 2 buttons (as is the theme). Game is NOT endless, you can win by defeating the Slime family which means killing the Slime Queen.

Game contains:
- 2 Heroes
- 4 Enemies
- 2 Bosses
- 9 Items (Mouse over to find out what they do)
(and even few corny quotes)

Controls (Controlled only with mouse):
- LClick: Shoot/Go through door
- RClick: Move/Teleport
- RClick + LClick (or clicking on the item icon) - Use item
(additional developer function - F1 to display FPS (in case someone has problems with the game)).

This game was made completely in Java (custom engine) in 48 hours (compo). I also made all the code, graphics, sounds and fonts.

Thanks for playing, have fun and don't forget to rate the game and let me know if you've beaten the game. Thanks a lot.

POST COMPO: Even though bullets not being visible was meant to be a way to make the game harder for the player, I decided (after many comments) to make them visible which is the only change in the post compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#206Humor3.00
#208Graphics3.67
#371Fun3.30
#401Overall3.33
#444Mood3.00
#454Audio2.68
#598Innovation2.96
#674Theme3.48

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Love the red neck attitude of the hero! The fact that you don't see your shot is a problem.

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I found the shooting and moving a bit strange and unresponsive, but nice game overall.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07pm

i love the art and gameplay, however i feel like a stormtrooper then i shoot.

Carnivoris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16pm

I couldn't get the Windows .exe to run

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Nice and simple entry. GG !

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Graphics are really nice. SFX seems to fit. On my end the bullets were invisible, so it was hard to know where I'm aiming at. Overall I like this entry!

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The game was nice but it took a little while to figure out how to go through the door to next level.
Managed to find a yellow gun and after using it couldn't move for a second or two which was frustrating as it didn't seem to be better than the previous gun.

mar3k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

@Zetym, you can mouseover an item to see information about it. The yellow gun was a taser, it gives you more DMG, but stuns you if you miss (so not the best pick for gunner)

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

I love the graphics, and the controls took some getting used to but were actually quite nice! I wish the bullets could be seen, but nonetheless, this was fun to play and had a nice style!

WastelandDan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Unfortunately, I was not able to get the .exe to start. I attempted to start it with admin rights even, and it was a no go. :(

mar3k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

@WastelandDan, damn that sucks, you could also try running the .jar file ;)

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Love the mood, and the 8-bits graphic but the shoots ...

samsquanch9 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I like the art style (Broforce), and the gameplay is fun. Great work on it!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Neat little game, found it to be quite enjoyable once I got the hang of the controls!
I didn't play the visible bullets version, but It took me a short while to figure out that I could only shoot left/right.
The art was nice!

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:39pm

The slimes, they keep on coming! Nice job :)

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:26pm

I love the graphic style. Great and solid game!

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Neat little game. Solid entry!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:28am

Nice graphical style. Shooting mechanics would be improved by allowing it to be 360 degree (exactly where the mouse is point).

Anachron says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Fun entry! More slimes yay! Made it to the slimers with Redneck Pete but they killed me instantly. He always only moved part way towards where I clicked so I got cornered a lot. The blue slimes are a clever idea. The sharpshooter is cool but I died pretty quick. The two button controls are more fun as you get used to them, which is good :)

Aaranos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:52pm

I think the biggest problem I had playing was just not being able to see the bullets. I think it played well enough and the art theme worked well. I had to look at the controls page again to figure out how to get through doors, but that's just from quick reading.

Fadobo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Really fun little shooter with nice graphics and good choices on sounds. Took me a minute to figure out in the compo version, especially, that I can't shoot diagonally though (much better in post compo of course).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]