Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Destructive Power

by DarkGrisen - Compo Entry

*** If the game doesn't launch, run the xnafx40_redist.msi file. ***

Destroy all the blocks as fast as you can!
Btw... my score is 4180 ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#314Innovation3.42
#509Fun3.12
#585Audio2.38
#742Overall2.93
#847Theme3.10
#863Graphics2.12

Comments

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Sadly doesn't start on windows 8.1 (mouse cursor loads for a second and it pops up in the task manager, but it's gone again right after).

TripleW says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Doesn't launch, no errors though

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Try to run the xnafx40_redist.msi file if it doesn't launch :)

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:33pm

An addictive and fun new take on the teris-esque arcade style.
Needs a little graphical juice and some music, but you've already got the most important part of the game down.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Clicking left-right repeatitedly all the time is a bit straining for the fingers.
It fi's the 2 buttons game theme well.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Hi , i liked this game felt bad killing the people but then become fun muahaha :)

the graphics are nice and i get that you level up so you took that as growing along with two button control :)

shame you couldn't put a audio on/off as the music did get repetitive and i had to turn my own sound off and when in full mode on mac i could exit the app but overall i liked the game

Well Done!

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Yeah, I should make some options to turn on/off sounds but I was running out of time :P

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Not bad entry, i played this more than 10 minute. XD

Good job!

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:20pm

So much fun!! Good job :)

Skaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:27pm

1630 points ! is that bad ? :p

Pretty interesting concept, at first I thought it was too easy annnd was proven wrong, it's quite intense. Good game!

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

It was crazy to play it on touchpad pressing left and right buttons to explode the bombs. Fun game for 5-10 minutes.

jsmars says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Great game! I got 3080! Will rate after I submit our Jam entry :)

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Good idea and fun game!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05pm

A solid physics based game, quite a bit of fun, like it. The difficulty ramps up pretty fast though I think. It would be nice if it is balanced better :)

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Cool Tetris-like game. Having a hard time understanding what the requirements are for using items. Sometimes I'll have enough money or points for any item and won't be able to use them. Is there a cooldown I can't see?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Next level Tetris xD Good Game.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12pm

My Score 2540. Cool game. You should work on the graphics now. For a post-compo you could change the controls too, instead of left and right click, work just with the left click.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Oh yeah top score 2710! Thought this was really clever concept and strangely satisfying. Simple audio and video but really fun! Well done.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:10pm

An interesting idea! I think you would have benefited from using two keyboard buttons to like... pump the bombs.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Crashes on startup

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:35pm

That start menu background was a little too busy on the eyes. :D

Fun game, but could easily get very far with just dropping spikes. Then it accelerated a bit and I had to use bombs, but it quickly was too fast at that point.

Some more diversity would be cool, but a nice start. (score: 1890)

Piscythe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:33pm

This is a really cool idea. I liked the tools available, and it was fun at the end scrambling to defend. The difficulty curve was off, though. The game started slow and stayed that way for a while, then quickly became extremely difficult. Also, the interface buttons need work - letting go of them outside of the playing field leaves them stuck there.

Score: Attempt 1 / 2270 Points

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Nice! Tetris with a twist! :D I think the sound could use a bit of work but other than that was quite fun to play through! :) Gooood job!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Nice game, you remain in the game for a while a good job.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:49pm

When I launch it on my Win7 VM in VMWare it complains that the graphics card can't handle the XNA HiDef profile needed for the game, which looking at the screenshots made me chuckle. Probably a bit much too ask, but if you can make a build requiring a low-profile gfx card, I can test it. Thanks for your feedback as well!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Can't play windows games

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]