Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Z4KM4STER - Zookeeper DJ

by candlesan - Compo Entry

Post-Jam update:
http://www.wyattcheng.com/games/ZookeeperDJ/index.html

Theme: 2-Button Controls

Help Z4KM4STER the Zookeeper DJ feed all the animals while breaking some tasty tunes.

GOLD Trophy - 100% on a level
SILVER Trophy - Completed level with less than 100%

Development Blog for this game here:
http://wyattcheng.blogspot.com/2015/12/zookeeper-dj-dec-game-jam-ludum-dare-34.html

Developed in Unity 5.3 with LMMS and Photoshop Elements

Development Jam was streamed at http://www.twitch.tv/candlesan
You can follow me on twitter @candlesan

Post-Jam changes:
-> Added Trophy explanations and trophy hookup
-> Display % complete of each level
-> Added "5-year old mode" which is enabled by hitting cheat key "H"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#8Fun4.24
#13Audio4.25
#26Overall4.11
#131Innovation3.76
#150Humor3.23
#161Theme4.09
#202Mood3.41
#693Graphics2.69

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

Loved it, really impressed with how nicely the beats come together

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Wow awesome music game! I watched your stream some and it's awesome to see how it all came out. The art has a lot of charm. The bouncing mechanic is more interesting to play than I thought it would be. And of course my best level was the zombie one! lol!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

good fun, this made me laugh while playing, and had pretty good mood.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

Great work! I found the game very fun and was also impressed with how well the musical aspect worked.
Super unique! :)

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

Awesome job! Specially like the penguin level!

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Masterpiece!

wilthord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

Great game, I loved it.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55am

I really like this. It's fun, has a good level of challenge, and sounds nice too. I think it would be nice if the 3 zones you can stand in were marked off in some way, so you had a visual reference for how many spaces you need to move to catch the notes.

ptkfs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

Great music, lots of fun.

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22am

Very creative. I was afraid the notes would be repetitive after a while, but it works really well. It's a good idea to change instruments from level to level, and they all fit their environment quite well!

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27am

Wow that was really fun! I love the idea of making this classic game into a rhythm game. Also I guess now I know where the protagonist of my game went after it ended^^

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Really well done.

bering says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

Nice music, nice art, simple yet challenging enough gameplay. It's a nice game you got there!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10am

This turned out even better that it looked on your stream. The difficulty curve was perfect - I felt like I was improving very quickly. Even tho the levels were getting harder, my score kept going up. Awesome idea!

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

Cool little game, I really liked the sounds!

kabel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00am

It nice to listen to, and easy gameplay wise.

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:16am

Hi everybody - by request I uploaded a post-jam version that adds a hotkey "H" which makes the game easier for kids.
Post-Jam update:
http://www.wyattcheng.com/games/ZookeeperDJ/index.html

flyingbear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37am

Got all 5 gold trophies, BOYEEEE! I love how each level has a distinct feel both visually and aurally. The last level is my favorite of course! ;)

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52am

This is really cool, particularly when it dawns on you what is happening, I enjoy the call / response in the music with the panda.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54am

Fun idea on a rhythm game.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:39am

Gameplay and audio is very solid. Nice !

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09pm

This game is amazing. I love how everything is so perfectly timed.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I could get gold in first and silver in others on the first run and felt pretty proud :P I think the mechanic is really challenging and fun but graphics could be much better. I liked how music worked, though I cannot say I liked the type of music you used. Still great job, keep it up!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:10am

The music worked great, nice re-invention of the classic "Pancake".

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:48am

Really enjoyed your game, and loved how the music was directly integrated into the gameplay.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:57am

Sound effects worked really well.

YinYin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:57am

Exceptionally good interactive music that doesn't break if you miss something. Very nice. Only the bananas were a bit dim.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Looks can be deceiving... That was actually a very well-made rhythm game! I'm pretty damn impressed!

UncleChris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55pm

LOVED it - such a unique game, difficulty ramped up too fast for me (poor elephant nearly got nothing! :D), but was fun till VERY frustrating. :) The concept was quite well done, and the music/beats fit so well together.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Unique entry. Nice work!

Anachron says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:48am

Very nice game! Lots of fun and cool tunes. The sounds on the monkey level were kinda low-volume compared to the rest :)

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:51pm

You rock, isn't the original idea, but the game-generated-music made it very fun!
Penguin is my favourite level :-)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:32am

i like "Puppy Love" level in Earthworm Jim ! I love it :)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:33am

it's like "Puppy Love" level in Earthworm Jim ! I love it :)

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Amazing use of sounds/music. Very well executed. Visuals are a bit Spartan though.

rockybdubs says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:24pm

LOVE!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 9, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Very pleasant!
There were old skool handheld Nintendo games before they got into hi-tech that mechanics a lot like this, except the ones I remember used falling items and not a curve bounce.

And it's nice because I am a casual LD gamer, so I liked not getting crushed on level 1! And I'm terrible at most speeds of DDR type games so I could mostly pass this one at least the silver trophy within a few tries though I had to work a bit at the last one.

And really clever music note placing, that had to take work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]