Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Row Row Row Your Goat

by A Flat Miner Studios - Jam Entry

Looks like Monkey is up goat creek without a paddle. Turns out hungry goats aren’t the best navigators in the world. Now with only one oar, poor Monkey is going to have a difficult time maneuvering the rapids.

Guide the goat-boat around the river and feed him sandwiches before he eats your last oar! Watch out for obstacles, swift currents, bears and of course, explosions!

Use Left and Right arrows to move and keep an eye out for the clock power-up to cut down on your time. How fast can you get through the five courses?



Controls:
The entire game CAN be controlled using the left and right arrow keys.
To row left, use the left arrow key.
To row right, use the right arrow key.

To advance from the title screen, use the right arrow key.
On the course select menu, use the arrow keys to change which course is selected and star the course by pushing both arrow keys at the same time (you may also select a course using the mouse).

In addition, we offer alternate controls if you do not wish to use the arrow keys. You may use 'a'/'d', 'z'/'x', or 'q'/'p' in place of the left/right arrows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#17Graphics(Jam)4.67
#33Overall(Jam)4.09
#36Humor(Jam)4.04
#101Mood(Jam)3.88
#124Audio(Jam)3.80
#129Fun(Jam)3.71
#137Theme(Jam)4.13
#195Innovation(Jam)3.60

Comments

carlsommer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03am

This looks fantastic! It took awhile to feel like I got the hang of the best way to move the boat, but I think it was manageable. (and I felt like I learned something : )

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03am

Cool game, I enjoyed the water effect. The rowing controls were more difficult than I thought they would be. Nice job.

holgk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

Wow nice art.

Interface says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

Fantastic game. Perfect for Ludum Dare. Congrats, one of my favorites so far!

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

Great job! I especially liked the bears. And the bear explosions.

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13am

Wow, those water animations! (And the rest of the graphics too.)

I loved the humor in the game and the personality that you gave the characters.

If there's one thing that I didn't like about the game, it's that turning away from an obstacle once you hit it doesn't feel very smooth.

But overall, this is a really impressive game!

TnT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13am

This was great!

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19am

Very nice graphics with lots of nice details like the fish swimming against the current. Took a while to become comfortable with the controls, but I like who the current of the river was different on different levels, and how that affected the boat.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

The graphics and music fit the humor of the game perfectly. Naturally, the mood is also perfect. I find the rowing mechanic to be hilarious and fitting for the two buttons theme, and it's quite innovative too. The game itself is fun to play and I like that despite the implied threat, the goat does not seem to ever eat your last oar, letting me play at my own pace.

Overall, an incredible and well-polished game. It looks like it was developed professionally, and you even have a website to download it from! I'm impressed (and envious), great work!

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

This was incredible! Great Job!

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

That is the best monkey riding collie riding in a goat boat on a quest for sandwiches on a perilous river game that I've ever played!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22am

Great graphics, nice water shader. Needed to be longer. Controls for boat were good, even if hard to get the hang of. Good job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Cool game! Very innovative idea and realisation of the controls. The most of all i like the explosions from the bears. It was hilarious!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35pm

The art and presentation are top notch! And the look of that water! Oh, that water! The boat was quite difficult to control, I would've liked that to be toned down a notch. You got me to laugh though, so points for that!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49pm

The assets look really good! Nice universe and atmosphere, it's also pretty fun to play and I liked the variety of levels you were able to propose for a jam game. Good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Fantastic graphics and style and also very fun to play. A really polished entry.

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:31am

Funny concept, love the art. :)

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:42am

I'll start by saying that I was absolutely awful at this game. The controls are difficult but I guess that's the point and it's quite fun desperately trying to get back on course.

There is a lot of content here too, enough to spend a fair amount of time on. My favourite part though is the art. It's the first thing I noticed about this game because it looks absolutely amazing. Easily the best looking entry I've seen so far.

drinkadriu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:57am

So beautiful and so fun ?

dx0ne says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:14am

Now I know: I suck at rowing in game as in real life.

Great graphics, crazy idea and nice controls. Make more levels.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Nice. Definitely a lot of content. I like the style, though there are some oddly inconsistent elements, e.g., the SFXR sound effects against the more instrumental music, or the unique font for the FREEZE text.

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Very nice art. Very frustrating game at the later levels. Fingers were getting sore by the end. Nice job.

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:10pm

The graphics were really stunning, and I played it a few levels. Mostly to see more of the graphics. The dialog and such was also nice. The controls however I simply never got to get a grip on. And fighting the controls felt frustrating rather than fun. Sure I understood their premise, but the way the boat reacted if doing e.g. left and right in swift succession... Also with the controls frustrating, I think it would have been nice with the triggers for the checkpoints a bit larger. So while I like the idea and almost all the stuff you implemented... it is a really very well made entry, I don't feel like the theme at all helped the game you made. Not complaining at all about you not using the theme, just saying that I think your game would have been much better without the theme.

Aaranos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Beautiful game. Very clear to see the difference of experience and teamwork that went into it. Gameplay is smooth, audio is great, and those pesky bears punch with rocket arms.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:06am

Really well done! loved the animation and graphics... the ripple behind the boat looked cool as well :)

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Bears +4
Michal bay pun +1
5/5

Now being serious. This is the most polished and well finished game i found so far. Im jealous tbh
everything its perfect on this game!!

congratulations!!!!!!! =]

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:17pm

I will never come up with anything as witty as "Row, row, Row your goat." The controls definitely take some getting used to, but I feel like the boat/goat handles exactly as it would/should. Looks great!

Ithildin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:47am

Brilliant, hilarious idea, awesome graphics and a lot of content for 3 days. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]