Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nature Nurture

by Interface - Compo Entry

Tower Defense!
Grow your forest while an increasing number of bulldozers try to take it down. Each tree is controlled by two buttons (hah!):

If you click the "Next Wave in X time" you actually trigger the next wave right there and then. Technically a debug feature that's still there.


* Grow / Work: Grow your tree bigger (upgrade) at a life points cost. Or have it work.
* Defend / Produce: If your tree is working, it can either be defending or producing.

There's three types of trees:
* Tree of Life - produces life points (every other tree consumes this, and you need for growing the tree). Has no defend capability.
* Apple Tree - produces apples, which unfortunately aren't used for anything. However, in defend mode this is your attack tree as it launches apples.
* Spruce - this tree produces wood, which you need to build trees. In defend mode it builds a barrier around itself as a defensive structure.


In case you can't tell - I ran out of time. However, most of the basic mechanics are done.

I will add more platform builds - still trying to get WebGL working :-(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#292Audio3.07
#365Mood3.13
#456Innovation3.19
#460Graphics3.13
#546Theme3.65
#570Overall3.13
#709Fun2.82
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Probably should've read the description on your trees first :) I like Tower Defense games. This was pretty cool too. Some soothing music while your forest gets wiped out.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Like this challenge you fixed yourself. It's one of the most original type of games that I see there. This is a great game!

stevepctech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Wow, I really like this! I spent a good hour getting to wave 12, which seemed to bug out a bit (bulldozers spawning off the map with others going in the wrong direction). This has a ton of potential if the balance was adjusted, such as making the apple trees less overpowered when you have a lot of them. Very well done!

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05am

Very nice coding, i apreciate it, its hard for programming.and the idea is cool,i loooove your game

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:06am

Interesting concept, love the music. It could be a big game, you have done well since you've got only 48 hours like everybody else. I would love to play if you build it into something :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

nice lowpoly concept)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Nice done!

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

simpel but venry nice inovation

Milo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:32pm

This was a neat concept, although it was sometimes difficult to see the effect of various actions. I also think there might have been a bug with integer overflow - somehow, I ended up with two bulldozers with 4 billion health on the second wave.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:20am

Fore some reason my appletree stop firing sometime. I dont undestand why. It seems that the apple become very small until I cant see them.

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:17pm

The music is really nice :) And building of the trees too. It seems unfinished and unballanced. But I had nice 10 minutes of playing :) Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]