Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hey, My Name is Joe!

by Pixelaborate - Compo Entry

(The theme I chose to do was two button controls, no growing, sorry!)

Hey, My Name is Joe!, (Full Title: Hey, My Name is Joe, and I Work in a Fastener Facility. I've Got No Wife (It's Complicated) and Two Gerbils. I Was Working When I Almost Got FIRED!!) is a game about a man's day to day. Unfortunately I had no way of making the game only have two buttons, but it is controlled using only the 'f' and 'j' keys. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I did making it :)

'f' controls the left button
'j' controls the right button

(I apologize for the broken mac build, not really sure what's up with that)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Humor3.38
#202Mood3.41
#204Theme4.05
#356Audio2.91
#377Overall3.36
#392Fun3.27
#426Innovation3.23
#526Graphics3.00
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53pm

This game looks suuuper intriguing but unfortunately I can't get the Mac version to work. For some reason it says it can't be run because it's a PowerPC application (which is probably not true but that's what the error says). I'll see if I can play it again later on my Windows machine but just thought I'd let you know.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Entertaining and humorous

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Pretty fun, got boring after a while though.

Teren says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

The game gets quite hard towards the end but thanks for not punishing failure too much by allowing you to replay the level :)

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:43am

The visuals are quite cute. I like the idea of using sabotage as a difficulty modifier. I do wish the Sticky Keys one was explained a bit more (I get the reference, but not everyone will, and I'm not sure exactly how Sticky Keys works, because I always turn it off after I get that alert).

The gameplay does get monotonous after a while, but the game is short enough that I felt motivated to keep going the whole way through (noticing how far the date was from the end of the month helped).

At first I thought the protagonist's job was to simply sort the buttons by color, but based on one of the mustachioed dude's comments, I guess he's supposed to be eliminating defects from the production line? I just realized that the "'A' OK!" and "Recycle" signs are supposed to indicate that as well. Those labels might be a bit clearer if they were directly underneath their respective buttons. I do also wish the defective buttons were defective in a way other than being a different color- being cracked, having a missing hole, or stuff like that. Implementing defects that way also allows to to increase the difficulty be making the defects more subtle as you go on.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:18am

@Gjarble, I really appreciate the constructive criticism and if I ever decide to continue the project on ios or something of the sort, I'll seriously take it into account!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:01am

Amusing. Gets repetitive of course, but is responsive, is on theme, and entertained me for a bit.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:56am

Cute game, simple concept, but reached a surprising level of difficulty after a few levels (did not expect the sabotage challenges, it was a fun change of pace ^^).

scorched says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Funny, but controls are a bit confusing, I thought at first that I must press blue button, when the button goes under it :-)

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Fun! I really liked the escalation of difficulty, I was expecting it to stay pretty simple but you managed to get a lot of challenge out of two buttons. The animations were cute and fit perfectly with the setting, and the humor was spot on. The touch of having the music get faster was perfect as well -- I only wish there was some kind of sound effect for making a mistake, or an indication of how many mistakes had been made, but this is a minor complaint.

Overall you did an awesome job, congrats!

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:34pm

The game is actually pretty fun :D! Even though the graphics aren't the greatest and it's not too much of a challenge, I still found it quite fun! The effect of music getting faster each time is quite nice but the music gets tiresome pretty fast, so not the best track choice in my opinion. Too plain and simple for me. But I guess it meets the games theme, plain, simple and with two buttons! Good job!

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:39pm

nice graphics and music and quite enjoyable too.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Last days get very challenging. It's incredible how much just inverting two keys can mess with my brain:P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]