Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Bullet Hell Style Shooter Where One Button Controls Both Shooting and Moving, While Another Button Gives You Slightly Sarcastic Motivation.

by Fanttum - Compo Entry

Read the title ya dummy!

Use Mouse click, or Space bar to move and shoot. Hit the Radio button to get encouragement, or skip button to stop the tutorial.

Don’t take this too serious. Couldn’t start working on this until 24 hours had already passed, so this is like 10 or so hours of work. I really like the idea I came up with (a bit late however) so I wanted to do it. Not much “Content” per say, but most of the core mechanics are there and hopefully you can see where I am going with it. Would love to finish this up some day so please share with me your thoughts or ideas.

Was planning to add but ran out of time:
Hyper Team Style Music
More Upgrades
Different Shot types
Better Enemies
Different Environments
More Dynamic Camera Movements
Actual 3D models
etc.

Yes the title is intentionally long and silly. Hope you have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#62Humor3.71
#263Audio3.11
#426Mood3.04
#492Fun3.14
#673Overall3.00
#679Graphics2.72
#699Innovation2.76
#708Theme3.41

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Wow, incredible! Keep it up! :P

My favourite technique was to fly high, then dive-bomb the bastards with a rain of death. Fun game, I'd like to see it taken forward!

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Pretty good, the audio got a little glitchy but pretty fun.

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55am

Really please when I found out I could skid on the water! Nice work.

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

Love the water skidding effect.

TheFudster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

I was very amused! Awesome job.

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

It is exactly what it said it was.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03am

Pretty funny voice acting you got there :P too bad you didn't have a lot of time to work on this... I could see it going places.
Even so, I think you could have written a small "endless" enemy generator after the boss that gets gradually harder.
Nice entry!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

The voice overs of this game really add to it!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Wow, great work. Incredible XD I like the motivation!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32am

Great! Will play again for the lines I couldn't hear (4am here).
Also, I had to finish the game because I kept left button pressed to see what happened. Turns out the player object turned into 5 smaller objects aligned on the center of the play area and the browser froze.
No big deal, just so you know.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:21am

So, killed the boss and nth happened :) Neat idea, some bugs (first time I've died couldn't shoot anymore, had to refresh) but in general nice job!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34am

Glad y'all are enjoying it so far.
And yea nothing happens at the end, haha I ran out of time.
Also the biggest bug I found that I have no idea why is happening, is very rarely when you start the main level you will get all the power ups and other weird things will spaz out, and unless you shut it down quick enough might freeze your browser, haha very sorry if this happens to you.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38am

I thought the control style was a lot of fun. Nice water effects.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41am

Lol!! Loved the audio...
Amusing gameplay! had fun!!

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

In 10 hours your game is almost better than my 48 game. Good job!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Neat concept. Really like the super dry voice-over haha.
It would be nice to be able to fly a bit higher, I really felt constrained in my movement. Next time use the full 48 hours, and it will be amazing!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:49pm

This game should get the reward for 'The Best Voice Actor In The Universe And Maybe Beyond Because Why Not So Let's Give Him This' (TBVAITUAMBBWNSLGHT reward)
But on a more seroius note, it is hard to hit anything. And I think this is the only complaint I have. So, great job!

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I love the voice over at the beginning. Very comical.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:41am

Fun game, love the tutorial.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Interesting way of implementing the two-button control in a way that really only needed one button. I like that. Fun little play-through.

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Oh also, forgot to say that our game now has a Mac-version...

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Haha, your voice acting was the best part xD

Great job making something with what little time you had.

I imagine it as though the pilot has no idea what they're doing, so when they start falling they freak out and press everything they can - hence one button to do everything.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]