Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growth

by Alexander Ramsay-Baggs - Jam Entry

Sit back, relax, and enjoy the task of creating your own profitable farm! Growth is a game where you work the land, grow your crops, and enjoy a nice profit on the side.

For feedback, we have a google form we'd love people to fill in. It's available here: http://goo.gl/forms/Yu31b9HL2l

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#448Audio(Jam)3.15
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#629Fun(Jam)3.02
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#777Innovation(Jam)2.73
#802Humor(Jam)2.03
#820Graphics(Jam)2.80

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:52am

awesome

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Probably my favorite gardening game so far. :) Nice work!

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Quite relaxing. Apart from the parsnips. Grow damn you!

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Now I have so much wheat I can't harvest it all. Now I understand the parsnips. This game is educational!

colinator27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Very fun to play!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

I played this game for far longer than I should have. Don’t let my boss know. All around very good game.

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

I always want to be a farmer, now my dreams come true!
Good game, rate my game too <:

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26am

great idea, like a minimal harvest moon

ironleonem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27am

Great execution! The turn based mechanics were an interesting way to present this game, and I saw no real bugs. Even though I've seen farming games before, it was fun to manage my time. Really well done.

ironleonem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46am

Also, I have some followup advice for you, if you're going to work on a post compo version. Incidentally, I'm only doing this because I REALLY liked your game, and would love to see more of it!

+ Have tilled fields decay if the player doesn't plant in them after a couple days.
+ Make wheat grow just a little faster, and be worth a little less to sell. This will not affect your worth of grain, but WILL make the other crops more accessible more quickly, letting your player expand their options much more quickly.
+I love the grass idea, but I feel like you could do more with it. Make it grow a little more quickly, and possibly have existing grass over 50% spread to a random number (1-4) of adjacent tiles.
+ I LOVED the random spawning truffle idea! I feel like you could expand on this and have other random spawning things the player could find. It would really expand your replayability!

Again, EXCELLENT job. Thank you for your submission.

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

A well executed farming game, very comfy to play. Nice work.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

I remember my times playing Harvest Moon


(': lovely work

SethR says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

Really impressed with all the options and holy cow, a tutorial? But to be honest I quit early because the dang "Next day" button was soooo slow.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

I actually really like it. Was pleasantly surprised!

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50am

Good work.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

Awesome! really feels like an oldschool farming game, sweet graphics and audio. Played this for far longer that I'll ever admit! :)

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53am

Nice and calming! Very addicting. I felt like I was just getting started, and I had played for over 45 minutes!
Good stuff!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I wish it was a bit faster, and the controls are not very comfy. I really liked the game though. :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Nice managing game. :)
8153pts in challenge mode, dont know if it's good or not.

hunttis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Goes well with the theme. Very relaxing, could maybe use with more interaction (at least in the beginning, when you're just clicking the days away :D). Perhaps have some pests you have to squish or something?

Hackbug says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

WHAO :O your game is pretty cool. Nice Graphics, nice songs, nice fun so :D

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:39pm

After 100 days of growing onions, I get 27668G. You must construct additional onions.

Interesting little sandbox, but it does get very repetitive. Perhaps there should be additional game elements that work against you, like seasons or pests.

Overall, well done. Good tutorial too!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:18am

It seemed pretty slow for a farming game without side-goals. In harvest moon waiting for things to grow is to enforce your perspective of time and give you time to interact with the town, but here there doesn't seem like much of a purpose for clicking on new day ten times before you can get your value out of you wheat. Functional with good aesthetics, though.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:09am

Not bad. It feels like there's no motivation for action in the game? Like, there's no tension to make the gameplay enjoyable, I feel. I kind of want it to not be turn-based, so that I can sit back and watch the crops grow and then have to time when I harvest them that way.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Nice entry! I just think it needs some balance because harvesting expansive seeds does not give back more money as it should. For example, tomatoes cost 150 and can be sell to high prices, but they are sooo long to harvest that it's better to sell wheat (I did not miss action points despite I should have with this technique). Apparts from that, it is quite addictive, I could not stop before I achieve round 100. Good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]