Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Last Minute Beard

by Headmade - Compo Entry

You forgot about Beardum Dare the biggest and best beard growing competition. Now you need to grow a beard in the last minute.

Download and run the last_minute_beard-v1.jar (requires Java).

Controls:
Left mouse button grows beard left
Right mouse button grows beard right
Left + Right mouse button cancels growth

Made with LibGdx, Tiled, Audacity, Photoshop, abundant-music.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#5Humor4.24
#35Innovation4.09
#191Fun3.58
#193Theme4.06
#305Audio3.03
#347Mood3.16
#377Overall3.36
#569Graphics2.94

Comments

Neonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Hahaha, this game gave me a good laugh :'), very good concept!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I've played many flash games in my life, more than I'd be willing to admit.
But this is new. :D

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Never in my life did I expect to enjoy watching a man force a beard out of his face (and a long and thick one, for that matter) for thirty whole seconds. Enough said.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Funny game, nice interpretation of both themes :)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Ha! My first beard. Wonder how the scoring works...

BobM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

WTF !
Had fun with this game !
The mechanics,graph and sounds are simple but still fun.

Won't play for hours xD

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

LOL
Balance: 3/10
Creativity: 10/10
Impressiveness: 4/10

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

I am amuse!

StaNov says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Heey, I also made a game with growing beard :) Nice graphics, interesting controls, funny physics. Maybe some clearer goal of beard creating would be nice.

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55am

I'm skeptical about the realism of your beard physics!

That was a pretty fun and bite-sized experience, nice job.

Also please don't fix the bug where the guy remains stuck on "gnnnnn" if you're busy growing a beard when the timer runs out ;)

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:29am

That was AMAZING..!
I was not expecting anything like that, well done...!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:30am

I wish i could grow a beard like this :(

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:33am

Hahahahahaha, epic.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Pretty funny!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:51am

This is the best. Hahaha. I love the sound effects. Solid gameplay. Solid scoring. This was a nice surprise. Thank you for making this. Amazing. 10/10. Would beard again.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

5/5 just for title, and other 5/5 for the game :)

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Also (sorry for posting it here) sorry for not clear rules in Let's Play Simulator 2016 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114). Hope this screenshot (http://take.ms/flHZu) will help you to understand how to detect good/bad games :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]