Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wöbble

by joe - Jam Entry

Friendly rather circular fellow Wöbble tries to make his way through the levels by rolling down the hill and growing and shrinking on occasions.


Controls:
up/down arrow -> grow/shrink
r -> reset


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0t_5Jezpgk


(Made with LÖVE: https://love2d.org/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#71Theme(Jam)4.26
#159Innovation(Jam)3.67
#174Overall(Jam)3.72
#224Fun(Jam)3.54
#236Audio(Jam)3.51
#263Humor(Jam)3.16
#378Mood(Jam)3.38
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

CogComp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

That was a lot more fun than I expected it to be, and somehow very relaxing as well. Great work!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Would have also fit the theme "death is not an end" because then you restart it again and know what you should have done the first time, instead of understanding what is was you should have done in the first place. maybe i the game was zoomed out a bit more

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Pretty cool game, took me a little while to get into it but it was worthwhile, with some wiggling around with sizes I made it through 3 or 4 levels, the audio certainly helped out with keeping me from raging at the lil guy when he stopped moving, good game!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Nice little game. I got myself stuck with not enough slope to roll too many times. The music was amazing.

zguba says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I loved that audio!

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

pretty cool! I like the puzzle design and the main mechanic is solid. nice job!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36pm

I love the relaxing feel in a puzzle game. Nice use of both themes.

someone says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I enjoyed that. I really like the exploration mechanic.
Completed one level by glitching the physics with growing too big for the space I was in.
Also completely failed the gethigh level. I'm glad you added the level select so I could skip it.

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Great game! Reminds me a lot of line rider and happy wheels. Sound and visuals is well done too, great job!

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

I really like the music and it kinda creates like a cohesive mood for the game. Really interesting game, good work!

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Perfect audio effects. Perfect Music!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

This was a really solid game! I wish you had spent some more time on the levels, or at least ramped up the difficulty. I wasn't able to finish a level after several tries until the later ones. Great job!

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

You game is awersome.Did you use Unity to make it? Congratulations Joe ;D

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Really enjoyed playing this game! Loved the named leaderboard at the end, and the music was amazing. Great job!

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Nice guitar sounds!

joe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05am

@Indie L Thanks! No, we used LÖVE (love2d.org)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

This is fantastic. The game is fun to play, I can't believe it comes with a level editor, and the music... That main theme with the shimmering guitar ringing out is stunningly beautiful. Awesome game.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

So this game seems to be heavily inspired by LineRider but that's fine because that's a cool concept. The game's art style didn't really blow me away, and the audio for me was infuriatingly annoying. The mood was okay, you're a a circle riding down a line, not much to call a mood.

However, I had a lot of fun while playing, I really like the fact that you guys made a level editor and that is a really big plus in my book. Not very innovative controls, the growing mechanic was a bit glitchy, but overall a solid concept and a good time!

With some improvements to the controls, the art style and the audio this could be a really great game. Also, with the addition of maybe being able to save a levels and share them with others that would add a lot to the longevity and replayability of the game.

Overall I'm rating this game high for potential, although some parts of this game needs polish.

Thanks for a solid entry! I hope to see your games in future Ludum Dares as well! :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Really nice mood to this, and the growing shrinking mechanic is fiendish at times :) I wish I didn't need so much trial and error, but it was fun trying to figure out when and where I should expand/shrink

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Great game! With it's little bugs and strange graphics and sounds it's really fun!
It would be great to see a restart button here and restart level when you fall over the edge
Also, what was that colored squares ?:) And why they make "ep,ep" sound when you step on them? :)

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:46am

I liked how this did a great job with the theme. Especially on the 4th level where you go down the ramp and have to size wobble to make the jump, then resize him so that he can go through the color blocks. Loved the chaulkboard art too. The music set the mood. Overall a great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]