Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Solito

by Nooner Bear - Compo Entry

[Solito]
All art and programming done by myself. Created in Unity 5 and Maya.

Onward my friend! Grow skyward and collect solitos as you climb, but don't tip over! The taller you grow the harder it will be to stay up!

[RMB] Branch towards the right
[LMB] Branch towards the left.

If you chose to play the web version, be certain it's in full-screen so it can capture your controls.

For the best experience, use a standalone build at 'Fantastic' settings

For more information about its development and future plans, read my post here
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/14/growing-skyward-ld34-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#24Theme4.41
#36Graphics4.36
#95Mood3.72
#102Overall3.81
#230Fun3.51
#267Innovation3.49

Comments

DJArroba says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:13am

Umm, the OSX and Linux links are the same as the windows link

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40am

Thanks for advising me. These are temporary links. I'm currently in the process of building for OS/X and Linux.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

Man, those graphics.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Probably the best graphics I've encountered so far.

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39am

Simple game, with a 4 star graphics!

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41am

The graphics are super great. Favorite 3D game so far in the compo. Stunning

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

This is a great entry. It really feels crazy when then plant starts wobbling and you're just trying to grow to stay level. It's very cool to see the camera pan back down over the entire plant at the end, too.

I got 6890 :D

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45am

Superb graphics and effects.

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39am

Really really cool. I wasn't sure what was happening when I started to tip but I managed to keep my momentum going even with being wildly off kilter. A+

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44am

Wow!! the graphics are amazing with simple mechanic!

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44am

Fantastic look and feel. Fun to play and the collapse at the end is satisfying to watch. Excellent work!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

Easily the nicest-looking game I've seen so far. It was a little weird to play on my macbook trackpad but not that bad.

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51am

Love the low poly visuals. balancing the plant added a nice amount of unexpected depth to the game, too :)

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:24am

Great effort! And actually an interesting game, reminded me of World of Goo

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

It's perfect. Perfect. I loved it! The graphics are beautiful.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Nice art

Bacontree says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Beautiful graphics and fun and simple gameplay. I was a bit suprised to see how hard it got after a while. Great game!

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17pm

5 / 5 Graphics m8

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Fantastic game, may be in top 10 this time.
My score is 5090, will play again

Gornova says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

I love mood, graphics and theme, well done! You should work on it after the compo the experience of "become a tree and go up".. really good

there is something on the mountain?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

A LOT of fun! i took me a bit to figure out how to play, but when i figured it out it was a blast! Great job! one of the best 3d games i have played this Ludum Dare!

juaxix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

I want to say the art in this entry is amazing :)

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52am

Cool game and cute art

Funske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12am

Really nice beautiful game. Short simple but addictive very good!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

It's fun game, yet I don't recommend playing on web version as your experience may be a little bit worse :)
I like this simple graphics and the movement of the branch higher is pretty neat :D

BudaDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Perfect blend of two button controls and growing. I actually had a lot of fun with this one, especially after I started swaying around once I got taller than the trees.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Quite fun, wasn't sure if the swaying was because of my own growing of the plant or just wind from getting higher. Really satisfying watching it all fall to bits in the end too.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

Really nice game! I reached 6890.. started lagging after a while when I was high.

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Nice graphics. I really enjoyed the mechanic whereby if you build too much to a side, the plant start shifting and falling toward that side. 10/10 for the theme.

veverichka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Love it. :)

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19pm

what can I say?? well.. excellent in all aspects!
This game pleased me a lot
pick 5 Stars :D

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

I liked the idea, but not the controls. I mean, i had to set fullcreen to keep pressing lmb and rmb. If you set to onlt left arrow and right arrow there will be no problem like this.

Loved the scenario and the way the plant dies XD
6k points c:

JayProg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Awesome entry, you definitely nailed both themes. Really good graphics and gameplay too, I like how you mixed it up with the swaying.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

4490 points, who can beat it? :P

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I'm a sucker for low-poly models so this looks awesome in my opinion :)
The game really gives you a sense of height when you rise above the tops of the trees, and can oversee the world.
The gameplay is simple but pretty good, but I don't think I would play this for hours.

Also maybe build it as WebGL next time, so everybody can use their default browser (Not sure how that performs with such sick 3D graphics)?

Very well done!

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

Thanks for the comments thus far guys. I appreciate them a lot! As far as WebGL, I was having issues with shadows, so I chose to stick with the alternative web client for the time being.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

Cool entry. Would be great if growing is animated a bit.
BTW. Right button doesn't work in web build, Firefox on Mac OS.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04am

I got 6890. Was a fun experience, especially with the tension of the whole vine starting to collapse.

I think there is a point though, when I go high enough, I cannot keep up with the pace of the vine falling, if you know what I mean.

Excellent work!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15am

RMB in the web build opens the context menu??

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Hey guys! Thanks again, everyone, for your votes and comments so far. For those interested in reading more about the game, its development, and my plans for it, I invite you to read my post that covers these topics.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/14/growing-skyward-ld34-post-mortem/

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:00pm

6890 (share that with someone else I see)! So first time around I totally missed out on how it worked, but that was fine. Second time I started upwards and was thinking like, "this is a neat idea, but it is a little bit simple". Then came the wind...and after a while it started to become very hard. Great game. Stunning graphics. A pity that you didn't have time equally stunning music. Because that would elevate this game quite a lot. I could also see the potential for a mobile game. Either tap on left vs right side of screen or have the vine on auto-growth and use the gyro (and have wind push what is up according to the gyro) to define grow left and right. Of course there could be other annoyances than wind too, like a bird temporarily resting on the vine pushing you down a bit. When it comes to the score/energy system, I think you should consider not resetting energy to 55 upon collecting a sun, but instead give a +30 energy. Or even +20, cap energy at 95. Because as it is right now the only thing that matters right now is the number of suns collected. How efficient or fast or slow you were for each "stage" has no effect. And that I think lessens the urge to play again.

Great game!

FiSilva says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Very good game, great take on the theme and amazing graphics

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Yey, 6890! Interesting game! I had fun playing it. Thanks! Good job!

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Nice idea, but eventually it becomes very sadistic ]:->

PeteDS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Pretty good would have been nice with some music maybe

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:15am

9290!

Graphics are simple and gorgeous, I really like low poly. At first I thought there wasn't much to it, but the physics of the plant turns out to make you click like a crazy to go back to the light :p

Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]